We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
148
124
41
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
124
41
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkenglish hotelside streetone way systemlovely buildingtraditional hoteltown centresaturday nightkippersfish and chipsbar foodstreet noisebaguetteearly hoursfull englishmany thanksbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
300 - 305 of 327 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Salisbury Arms earlier this month for one night. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely return.

The hotel building is very old but charming and clean. Check-in was very easy and smooth. Our room faced the street and had a large window and window seat with a nice view of the street. Sometimes when you stay in older places you get concerned if you move the curtains or walk in the corners of the room you will kick up a bunch of dust. Not the case at the Salisbury Arms. The room was spacious and clean. The linens were soft and the bed comfortable.

We spent some time in the pub downstairs and found that enjoyable as well. They had a good selections of beer and wine.

Smooth check out. The staff was helpful in getting a cab. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mike005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This hotel is often fully booked, for good reason as it offers great value in the heart of Hertford. Rooms are good and restaurant is excellent with some good deals.
Good selection of real ales in the bars with a traditional welcoming ambience from their excellent staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Even though only spending one day at the Salisbury Arms the overall experience was a good one. A small hotel housed in an old building, as can be noticed by the narrow corridors and creaky wooden floors. This is not a detriment however but adds a nice charming atmosphere to the place. The room was a "deluxe" version and was very well kept and quite spacious. The bathroom was a pleasant surprise with a good sized bath tub.

A nice experience and you get the feeling that the owner(s) pay attention to keeping the rooms tidy and in good condition. A downside might be the somewhat clunky wooden bedframe but this shouldn't stop a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenB_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I haven't stayed in the hotel but if you are looking for a quiet drink and bar meal while visiting Hertford this seems to be the only place where a the occasion will not be spoiled by noisy children in bar areas as they are not allowed. I just hope they don't change this policy..

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank LMGHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I recently held a surprise birthday party for 15 members and friends of my family , the staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, although there was noise outside my window late at night which made it difficult to sleep.
The atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed and comfortable.
Food is good and breakfast cooked fresh to order.
Very good place to stay at a reasonable price...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seatergreeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews