We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
148
124
41
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
124
41
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkenglish hotelside streetone way systemlovely buildingtraditional hoteltown centresaturday nightkippersfish and chipsbar foodstreet noisebaguetteearly hoursfull englishmany thanksbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 327 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2011

A fantastic, true British institution, offering excellent service, accommodation and food. Full of character - have been lots of times - and will definitely be going again - not to be missed.

Room Tip: Its in the centre of Hertford so ask for a quiet room at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillian35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Just back from an excellent lunch with friends and wanted to share how good an experience we have just had. The serving staff were very polite, attentive and efficient. We were in a lovely old panelled bar with a most relaxing atmosphere, which is good as parking is a nightmaree in Hertford! Top Tip: The Gascoyne Way multistorey car park is a short walk away and the charges are reasonable for this day and age.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AbbeyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We drove up from Hampshire and had a very good welcome from the staff and were able to deposit our bags and freshen up before lunch.
Our room was very comfortable and the breakfast was to die for, with the staff on duty being very helpful and nothing was too much bother. We will certainly be back again next year.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need, this is a very old hotel built in 1507 and has a variety of stairs, so make yourself clear to the staff.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The salisbury Arms is a proper little old world hotel (with state of the art bathrooms though) Very very comfortable and a totally at-home atmosphere. Lovely staff with a great sense of humour, nothing was too much trouble and they have great bar food and excellent breakfasts. Little bit difficult to find your way into the car park because of the one way system so prepare your maps well before you go. If you find yourself staying in Hertford overnight definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Hotel's right in the town centre, so all rooms have a view of something else in the town centre and it doesn't really matter what it is. Most rooms are on the first floor. Top floor rooms - the higher numbers - are lovely and quiet. Not sure if they're all singles like mine was (30) but they have the most character as they're under the eves, and the stairs aren't too arduous. Be sure to stop off at the shoe polisher!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flinders-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Having read the excellent reviews on the Salisbury, we stayed 2 nights last week (we were attending a wedding at Quendon Hall) - what a great hotel! as soon as you walk in there is a very welcoming feel to the place. Good selection of cask McMullen ales and superb wine selection. The bar food is far superior to normal bar food - especially the fishmonger's platter! We dined in the restaurant each evening - I had plaice the first night and with our 2 guests on the second night halibut which was exceptionally good. The staff are very professional as well as being very helpful and friendly. Free parking in their car park at the back is great as parking is at a premium in Hertford and we saw plenty of traffic wardens!
It was a pleasure to stay in such an historic and fascinating 16th century inn!
We would certainly not hesitate to stay there again and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of going. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews