We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with that homely feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed there lately, great team of staff who go the extra mile. Really felt at home there.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelNowicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is great if you're on a business trip. Due to the lack of attractions in Hertford, it is not ideal for families. There is no entertainment in the hotel, which is expected. The breakfast is brilliant, a waiter/waitress comes to you and you can order off of a menu which has a good range. I'm a fussy eater, and I have no problem with eating. Car parking is free, you just need to get the code off of the receptionist to leave the carpark. There are 4 dining rooms. One room is for people staying at the hotel, one room is in the style of a pub, one room is for dining and eating off of their menu, and my favourite room is the one at the front of the hotel, which is usually good for having tea in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaySackwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Salisbury Arms at the beginning of March for one night. We've stayed here once a year over the past 4 years when we have a meet up with friends in Hertford and are never disappointed. The hotel itself is a charming, proper 'olde worlde' hotel with two lovely cosy bars and a good restaurant. The style of the furnishings in the hotel are in keeping with the age of the hotel my only complaint being that our room was looking a little tired and in need of a makeover. Having said that it was as always immaculately clean and very comfortable. We've never eaten in the hotel in the evening but the food always looks good and there always seem to be a lot of people eating in the bar area. The cooked breakfast is always great and all the staff from the lovely receptionist to the waiting staff are professional, accomodating and friendly. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have being staying at this hotel about twice a year for about 7 years and have never had anything to complain about. The staff are always friendly and take a pride in their work.
The breakfasts are very good. It is situated in the centre of Hertford and is a 15 minute walk from the railway station for easy access to London. The weekend rate for a single person is reasonable. I often arrive about 10 am and if a room is available there is no problem checking in early.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I had an early meeting on Monday morning so due to the bad weather and heavy snow i travelled down Sunday and stayed in the salisbury arms what a pleasant suprise when i walked in lovely old quaint bar and an amazing jacobean staircase to the first floor.
The rooms are spacious clean and have super fast internet.
I had home made soup followed by a roast dinner in the evening not massive portions but adequate and very tasty.
I managed to chat to several of the staff they were all very nice and pleasant specially the bar staff

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My wife and I have just spent two nights at the Salisbury Arms. Arrived early on Friday, phoned from their car park and was told we could check in. First room was fine, but it was at the top of the hotel--listed building, no lifts. The nice young lady assigned to help us with our bags, was we were pleased to see also puffing by the time we got into the room. Asked for another room--at 73 cant be doing with all those stairs, and after a few minutes we were allocated another room on the first floor--sorted!!
Had a brilliant stay; plenty of places to sit and drink in the hotel; wide choice of bar food which was excellent and good portions. Breakfast one of the best--all freshly cooked and menu is excellent, and you can guess what the restaurant is like!!
All the staff were very helpful and aware of what was and wasn't possible, so never any nasty surprises. As we have family in this area, we will be visiting again in the summer and no debate as to where we will be staying.

Room Tip: Apparently some guests have complained about noise outside in the lower level rooms. We did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antho7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Me and 3 friends had new years eve at the hotel and what can i say first class service all evening ! Fantastic bar men and women food was out of this world and the after party was awsome the managment really have this place running at 110% will be back next year for anothere groovy nite

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hertford
0.1 km away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
287 reviews
0.1 km away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
130 reviews
4.4 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
8.9 km away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
691 reviews
6.2 km away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Arms Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Hertford SG14 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Price Range: $157 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Salisbury Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Arms Hotel Hertford, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing