We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldy Woldy pub.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed here a few times while visiting family,lovely rooms,great bar and magnificent breakfast.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
Thank RickAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

We arrived at one to meet some friends for lunch. First time for me. Loads of different rooms with lots going on. The food was average & staff polite. A lovely little town to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 410DEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Staff friendly and helpful. Ideal situation right in town easy to walk around from. Rooms varied some a little tired but think they are doing them up. Stair carpet a bit worn. Breakfast choice was quite good but would have preferred chopped up fresh fruit instead of a bowl of complete fruits to pick one from. Bar prices appeared quite expensive as 8 drinks came to £40.00

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveypoppyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you like pints of bitter they have a good choice here but very expensive for a pint. £4.85 for a pint of bitter. Ouch!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed there lately, great team of staff who go the extra mile. Really felt at home there.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelNowicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is great if you're on a business trip. Due to the lack of attractions in Hertford, it is not ideal for families. There is no entertainment in the hotel, which is expected. The breakfast is brilliant, a waiter/waitress comes to you and you can order off of a menu which has a good range. I'm a fussy eater, and I have no problem with eating. Car parking is free, you just need to get the code off of the receptionist to leave the carpark. There are 4 dining rooms. One room is for people staying at the hotel, one room is in the style of a pub, one room is for dining and eating off of their menu, and my favourite room is the one at the front of the hotel, which is usually good for having tea in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaySackwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Salisbury Arms at the beginning of March for one night. We've stayed here once a year over the past 4 years when we have a meet up with friends in Hertford and are never disappointed. The hotel itself is a charming, proper 'olde worlde' hotel with two lovely cosy bars and a good restaurant. The style of the furnishings in the hotel are in keeping with the age of the hotel my only complaint being that our room was looking a little tired and in need of a makeover. Having said that it was as always immaculately clean and very comfortable. We've never eaten in the hotel in the evening but the food always looks good and there always seem to be a lot of people eating in the bar area. The cooked breakfast is always great and all the staff from the lovely receptionist to the waiting staff are professional, accomodating and friendly. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hertford
0.0 km away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
285 reviews
0.1 km away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
129 reviews
4.4 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
6.2 km away
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel
#1 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
447 reviews
8.9 km away
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
Cheshunt Marriott Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Arms Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Hertford SG14 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Price Range: $155 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Salisbury Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Arms Hotel Hertford, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing