We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
149
124
41
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
124
41
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park english hotel side street one way system lovely building town centre saturday night kippers fish and chips bar food street noise baguette full english early hours many thanks breakfast was excellent pudding
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 329 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. The building is very oldy worldy, its charming but a little tired looking. Our room was very small. Although the room was clean the furniture was very battered looking and the bedding was not very comfortable.
The room was well equipt with flat screen TV, trouser press and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom had a large shower but no bath.
The staff in the hotel were very helpful and freindly and the food was very good indeed. We had lunch in the bar and ordered two of their Deli platters which were excellent and very reasonably priced. The drinks however were very expensive £4.40 for a beer.
I wouldn't stay at the hotel again but if I was in Hertford I would go there to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 117kate72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on a recent visist to the UK. We have on previous occasions had drinks here and love the atmosphere of the pub and the lovely building. We decided to stay here as it is central and you can walk to all the little shops in Hertford. Unfortunately there was mix up with our reservation and instead of an executive double room we were offered the standard double; granted it was at a good rate and we were offered a free lunch to the value of 10 pounds. However, the room was a bit small and the bed really uncomfortable. It had no duvet, only a sheet and very scratchy blanket, so we did not sleep well. On both mornings when we arrived at breakfast the continental breakfast was finished (no bread or patries, no juice, no yoghurt...) and when we asked for it to be refilled they said they can't as it was finished (this an hour before breakfast service was to end! The cooked breakfast was good though. All in all we were not too impressed with the accommodation and will not stay here again but we will be back to eat and have a drink at the pub.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonniCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here a few times while visiting family,lovely rooms,great bar and magnificent breakfast.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
Thank RickAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We arrived at one to meet some friends for lunch. First time for me. Loads of different rooms with lots going on. The food was average & staff polite. A lovely little town to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 410DEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Staff friendly and helpful. Ideal situation right in town easy to walk around from. Rooms varied some a little tired but think they are doing them up. Stair carpet a bit worn. Breakfast choice was quite good but would have preferred chopped up fresh fruit instead of a bowl of complete fruits to pick one from. Bar prices appeared quite expensive as 8 drinks came to £40.00

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveypoppyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews