We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
244
195
90
41
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
195
90
41
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway line wedding reception cooked breakfast plenty of parking family room wedding venue full english breakfast booked this hotel main building bit dated town centre lovely meal breakfast was excellent one night stay no lift following morning joe
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 598 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2018

Arrived at this lovely hotel a little earlier but received a wonderful an humorous welcome from the staff including the manager. Check in took moments and the manager showed us to our rooms which were in the separate building to the right of the hotel facade. Rooms were not large but clean and bright with glorious views of the gardens on a warm and sunny day. Car park spaces are very tight so could be looked at. When we returned from our friends occasion in St Albans the car park was full but there was ample space on the road at the front where there are not restrictions. Breakfast was excellent and check out equally swift as check in. Very friendly staff so would recommend this hotel for value and quality for such a popular area. Thank you for looking after us so well

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018

Booking this hotel for the night made our weekend. The staff were informative, helpful & friendly. The evening meal ( Italian Cuisine) was delicious and very reasonably priced. The dining area was really impressive as were the gardens - wow!!!! Took loads of pictures out there! The hotel & our room was immaculate. The beds were so comfortable and the bedding was lovely. Also noticed the 5 Food hygiene Rating too :) Would definitely stay in this hotel again.
(stayed in room 21 on Sat 23rd June 2018)

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2018

I’m sure that they do have bigger rooms and they do say on their website but even so!
The hotel is tucked away down a side street but is in easy reach for the city centre and the train station, all in walking distance.
There is parking at the back, side and front but it is limited and can get tight when busy.
The hotel rooms and restaurant are decorated, how shall I say, not entirely to my taste, but each to there own, it was clean and tidy and you probably can’t ask for more.
Our room was a small double, which you could just about get around, but again it was ensuite, clean and set out well for the size.
However it had a light outside which was brighter that the sun and seemed to reflect most of that back in the room at night. It also appeared to be above some kind of fan which started first thing in the morning.
The grounds were, again, small but immaculate.
All this I can live with but what did annoy me was the attitude of the staff of the bar and restaurant who seemed to think that guests were an annoyance as opposed to paying customers. (The front desk staff were fine)
I would have given this a four but the staff knocked it down one.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Cocobongoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

It’s very rare to find a room big enough for a family of five with teenagers so the large family room here was perfect. The Cypriot manager was so friendly... if you’ve been to Cyprus you’ll know the wonderful hospitality you can expect to receive ... we had a lovely evening in the restaurant, fuelled by the his excellent wine recommendation. Most of the food in the authentic Italian restaurant was great, though my husband didn’t enjoy his seafood pasta. Room was very clean and the main hotel building very pretty. Location is ideal for Harry Potter Studios and a short walk into the lovely town centre as well. The communal areas are a little shabby and there wasn’t enough plug sockets in the room...none near the mirror for hairdryer and couldn’t plug one of the bedside lamps in so two of the beds had no lamp or socket for phone charger. These are relatively small issues in what’s a great value hotel. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

We had a super night recently at the Ardmore House celebrating a colleague retiring and Joe the GM looked after us all so well. The food was delicious and service was welcoming and fun. We were all up dancing till late which we weren't expecting so great night was had by all.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 14hch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews