We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
155
68
13
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
68
13
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retail park hi express modern hotel usb ports the sofa bed big walk in shower london colney plug sockets included in the room rate accessible room harry potter quick check new build air con close to the hotel beans the hotel was fully booked
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 247 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2018

Perfect location, easy to locate, very modern and clean. Would recommend if you have to stay in the St Albans area. Plenty of free car parking and excellent price, including breakfast. We visit St Albans frequently and will stay at here again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lj20002016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Am a frequent visitor to Holiday Inn Express London Colney and love the friendly staff and service, just fab. Have often been served by Emma, she is amazing and never too busy to make sure that everyone is ok

Anne

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2018

My daughter and I enjoyed our one night stay at this very comfortable, clean and modern hotel. Staff were very helpful, WiFi was excellent and the breakfast selection was very good. The hotel is located on the M25 and is directly adjacent to a large retail park and is within walking distance to good pubs and restaurants in London Colney. The hotel could provide a 'safe' walking guide/leaflet to London Colney but that is a very minor comment, as you can get there via the retail park but directions would be helpful although staff were very helpful with that point.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights and although the hotel has many redeeming factors, the breakfast service was a real let down.

On the plus side, our room was a decent size and had usb ports in the power sockets; with plenty of sockets dotted around the room. This is a rare find. The bathroom was well lit, well ventilated and the shower was a good size with free shower gel.
The whole place was kept lovely and clean.

The car park was a good size and to say the hotel was fully booked for the duration of our stay, there were plenty of spaces available.
The hotel is close to a retail park, so perfect for a bit of shopping if you have the time.

On the downside, wifi/internet signal was poor. This was a working trip for us, so we needed to be able to access emails and messages which wasn't always easy to do.

As for the breakfast...oh dear! I should mention that this is included in the price of the room. The breakfast room isn't large enough to cope with the volume of guests when the hotel is fully booked, nor are there enough staff to keep up with the demand for food, or the clearing of tables. To their credit, they worked hard to do their best which certainly wasn't an easy task.
On our first morning (a Saturday), I was lucky and got the last clean plate. Sadly there wasn't any food to put on it as all the tureens were empty. A queue had formed and as soon as food was brought out, it pretty much vanished immediately; not helped by the fact that very little was brought out (maybe a dozen rashers of bacon at a time).
The toaster (why are all hotel toasters useless??) needed two passes to toast one side of the bread, so many people gave up with that. Needless to say, all the pastries quickly disappeared as a result of this.
When we did finally get food, there was nowhere to sit to eat it; we had to go into the reception area which wasn't ideal.
On the second morning it was just a chaotic with the added bonus of an electrical fault which kept tripping the power to the toaster, coffee machine, juice dispenser and hot water tap. The coffee machine had to warm up between cups so it was a waiting game at the best of times to get a drink. Again, the staff did their best to rectify this fault but it still resulted in a huge queue for drinks.
Some of our colleagues decided not to bother at all on the second morning and went across to the nearby M&S for a more relaxed breakfast!
Would I stay here again? Yes as all in all it was a good hotel in a good location, but I would go elsewhere for breakfast if they were fully booked.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissHolders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

this is one of the very best holiday inn expresses, good location, great management and staff, good parking the only short coming was the size of the breakfast room as it was not always easy to find a table in the morning

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews