We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in Canterbury”
Review of The Millers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Millers Arms
Ranked #5 of 73 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I highly recommend this lovely B&B/pub to anyone looking to stay in Canterbury.It is centrally located and is a few minutes stroll to the high street. The staff were extremely friendly and very accommodating. They would go out of their way to ensure you were comfortable. The breakfast is included in the room rate and is delicious! Would suggest trying the English breakfast or for something lighter, try the porridge with honey. The rooms are warm, comfortable and clean and include a lovely bathroom with toiletries. There is a wardrobe to hang your clothes and a desk with a large mirror and hairdryer. Tea and coffee making facilities are also included in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Six of us went to canterbury for girls weekend.We stayed at the millers arms.Our room was extreemly clean warm and comfortable.We went to a show and finished the evening of in the bar of the millers.The staff were friendly and helpful.Breakfast was good.The position is great to see the city really central ideal for visit to the Marlowe.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Location was amazing and the breakfast was delicious- I highly recommend this quaint hotel. We stayed here the last week in November and really enjoyed it. The floors were pretty squeaky, but everything was nice and tidy. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2travel1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed in The Millers Arms for the second time a couple of weeks ago, I had stayed there before I was not happy with the place on my first visit but I made allowances as they were carrying out renovations on the bar area. I booked it this time and asked specificaly not to be put in a named room in the front of the building, I did not wish to stay in that room as the windows are draughty and the sound from the mill race is head wrecking. The room is full of clutter and the bathroom window which is not frosted, opens onto the street (it does have a pull down blind) only for the blind you would be in full view of the public while doing your business.
There was no hot water in the mornings when I asked I was told that a lot of people were using it and it had run out. I also tried to have a shower at 10 pm but there was no hot water then either. The floor boards outside the room on the landing and corridors were as noisy as the mill race.
The breakfast was served by a young lady who obviosly had no training and no interest in the job and less interest in being polite. The food for breakfast was served in chaotic order.
I just don't understand how the EU allows these old converted houses to accomodate people never mind charge them for the privilage. Give me modern souless places before these " olde english quaint ale house boarding houses" knock it down and build a new one with proper windows at least

Room Tip: Are there good rooms in this ale boarding house ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Me and my boyfriend recently spent 3 nights at this hotel.
Location wise it is perfect.. 2 minutes walk to the city centre, and quiet enough to get a brilliant nights sleep.
Everything was perfect...
Check in, breakfast, location, price.
We would most definately return...
Can't thank the staff enough. Their customer service is spot on, and they are worth their weight in gold. Particular thanks to Angela... And there was another girl.. But we didn't get her name :( sorry!
Keep up the fab work!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAM2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed overnight at The Millers Arms what a cosy room, so warm & inviting, it over looked the river which is quite noisey but adds to the charm. Breakfast was most enjoyable with a choice of hot & cold food, staff were very friendly. We don't live that far from Canterbury but went to see a show & thought we'd make a night of it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardlizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This is not a hotel but a pub B&B, so be prepared for there to be an active pub in the building! However, before you panic, it is an up-market pub that does not appear to get overly busy, play loud music or have rowdy customers. Quiz night (if that’s what it was – it looked like one) was the busiest evening of the week and we could still hear nothing from our second floor room.

We spent 6 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was smallish but we didn’t come on holiday to sit in a bedroom all day! The en-suit twin room was well equipped with flat screen TV, radio alarm, tea and coffee, a hair dryer, and sufficient storage space. The bathroom had a full size bath complete with a shower.

The room was very clean and the carpet, furniture and furnishings in good order. The beds were very comfortable. The bedding and towels were of excellent quality and changed regularly (every other day).

Our room, the ‘Merchants’ (they are all named after the Canterbury Tales), was on the second floor at the front of the building, overlooking the river and the old mill site. There was no appreciable noise from traffic, from passers-by, or from the pub below. However, there was a constant noise of rushing water from the sluices on the river. While this was not overly distracting to us it might perhaps be to other people, particularly with the windows open.

I would expect that rooms at the rear of the building would be quieter (facing away from the river) but the view may include other buildings and roof tops etc, but I understand that from some rear rooms you get a view of the cathedral.

If you have difficulty with stairs then consider a first floor room, but I cannot comment on whether you can hear the pub below or not.

Breakfast is excellent and the dining room (restaurant) a very pleasant place to eat it. However, unless you stick to the self-service cold items then expect a good wait for your cooked breakfast as everything is cooked to order. I would recommend 45 minutes minimum if you don’t want to be rushed.

We ate dinner in the pub on one of the evenings and had a truly enjoyable meal; good quality and tasty at a reasonable price.

The staff were very pleasant and friendly and always willing to assist. The location was ideal for the city centre. We could walk to the central streets in 5 minutes, to West station in 8 minutes, and to East station in 20 minutes.

Highly recommended for ‘pub B&B’ – better than average! We’ve already talked about going back at some point!

Room Tip: Some rooms at the front offer lovely views of the river and the old mill sluices, but the noise of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malc-at-York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
2,034 reviews
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
1,153 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#4 of 16 in Canterbury
467 reviews
0.4 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,206 reviews
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millers Arms

Address: St. Radigunds, Canterbury CT1 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: $128 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millers Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Millers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Millers Arms Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing