We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant and comfortable place to stay.”
Review of Magnolia House

Magnolia House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia House
Ranked #61 of 75 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A pleasant and comfortable place to stay.”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I stayed here with my daughter when she visited the University. The owners had clearly thought about what guests might want - everything from a small fridge in the room to a clothes brush. For breakfast, there was a good choice of delicious fresh food. Magnolia House is easy to find, approaching Canterbury from London. There is off-street parking, and it's a short walk to Canterbury's quaint pedestrianised city centre.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    17
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
45
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2011

A delightful bed and breakfast in Canterbury. Not just a kettle in your room but cafetiere coffee, assorted teas, biscuits and fresh milk in the small fridge. And did I mention a small bottle of wine and water. The owner and her staff are friendly and welcoming and endlessly helpful. Breakfasts are to order and are delicious. The rooms are spotless and charming, if a bit over-decorated. Still, they are highly personal and reflect the owner's taste. The location is excellent for walking ( 15 mins to the centre) and driving. The off-season rates were very reasonable. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ouidaweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at this B&B for just 1 night and enjoyed it very much. We stayed in the Garden Room and we weren't disappointed.
Having not stayed in a B&B before (only hotels) we weren't sure how intrusive the service would be. I have to say i dont think there were many other people (if any) staying at the house over the weekend as we didnt come across anyone other than the staff and even that was rare.
The room was imaculate and everything you could possible need was there for you from a fridge stocked with wine/beer/milk on arrival to handmade soaps and body lotions to fresh filter coffee and tea making facilities.

The breakfast was lovely , a great choice for everyone, and luckily we ate alone which made it seem a little more special.

Very nice B&B, would definately return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliefay03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Excellent hotel with all the attention to detail that makes a stay so refreshing. Wonderful breakfasts, served beautifully. Lovely shampoo, shower cream, hair lotion all made specially for magnolia house. Lovely , clean, spotless, very good cleaning. A fridge in the room is a nice bonus and allows you to have a few things in the room. Fresh milk every morning in the fridge is a really nice and refreshing touch, as i so hate those uht sachets of milk that you get in most places. Also you get a bottle of wine when you arrive and water in the fridge. also a good quality hospitality tray with different teas coffee and filter coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits. The only slight criticism and it is slight, is that the hospitality items were not always filled up every day.I only got water in the fridge some days and not every day and no sugar sachets were put on my tray while i was there, although there were enough to last until the day before i left and there were no biscuits on the last two days. However i did get a bottle of beer in the fridge, which was a lovely touch. I would definately recommend and it and i will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larmanregister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We wanted a short break to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary. From the moment we arrived till we left we were made to feel special. Even coming back into our room the first morning there to find a small bottle of Cava & postcard congratulating us on our anniversary. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was freshly cooked, served beautifully. The fridge in the room with a small bottle of wine & bottle of beer, also fresh milk not long-life to go with tea/coffee etc was also appreciated. Once we get a spare weekend will be going back!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halwill, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed for three nights in Magnolia house whilst visiting our Son and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was well stocked with everything needed for a short stay. The fridge was stocked with fresh milk, wine and beer (which was complimentary) The room was very comfortable, clean and warm. Having free high speed internet was a god send for me, the signal was very strong. There was a "freeview" TV/DVD player and a selection of DVDs available to borrow.

The dining room, although a little small was very quaint and brekfast was joy as all of the items were locally sourced and cooked well. There was plenty of freshly squeezed juices available. The owner was very polite and friendly but not too intrusive. On the whole we very much enjoyed our stay at Magnolia House and will be returning again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itbytes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

I have never found it necessary to submit a negative comment following a stay at any hotel or B & B, despite having travelled a fair bit. However, we did not feel at all comfortable with our stay at this B & B. Similar to some other reviewers, we found this place unwelcoming, regimented and not very hospitable. The stay in Canterbury was a Birthday treat, but it was not very happy or relaxing. Everything here seemed measured, controlled and not very friendly. The breakfast room is very small and uncomfortable to move around when full. I had to squeeze past other guests to get some fruit juice and we did not dare ask for any more than the one slice of toast we were each given, or any more than the small glass of juice we managed to get our hands on. We definitely would not stay here again.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.8 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,876 reviews
1.0 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
431 reviews
0.2 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#45 of 75 in Canterbury
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Retro B&B
The Retro B&B
#7 of 75 in Canterbury
92 reviews
0.0 km away
The Arthouse
The Arthouse
#35 of 75 in Canterbury
110 reviews
0.9 km away
Hawks Lane Lodge
Hawks Lane Lodge
#39 of 75 in Canterbury
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House

Property: Magnolia House
Address: 36 St. Dunstans Terrace, Canterbury CT2 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Magnolia House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star gold award winning Georgian home, set in a quiet residential street ten minutes stroll from Canterbury city centre. It is close to the universities and public schools and is ideally situated for exploring the city, coastline or Kent countryside and is an ideal location for short breaks, long weekends or business trips. All of the guest bedrooms have been professionally designed with a close eye to detail to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnolia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia House Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing