We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations, excellent on all counts”
Review of Harriet House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harriet House B&B
Ranked #3 of 74 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. What makes the difference is that in a city like Canterbury, where parking is difficult, there is free off street parking. Also as we were a party of three adults, they have a double and single room at the top of the house with a shared bathroom. And the tariff reflects that there are only three guests. Spotlessly clean, convenient location and the best breakfasts ever. The owner goes that extra mile to make certain that you get the most out of your stay. Highly recommended on all levels

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry_Martin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

We look forward to seeing you again at Harriet House. Our car park offers a space for each guest room and enables guests to explore Canterbury on foot without parking worries and extra costs. Many thanks for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed 4 nights at Harriet House and I would highly recommend it. Very clean and tidy. I can't fault it at all. There is ample parking. The breakfasts are excellent. My room was very clean and had everything you would need, TV, tea and coffee etc. Also very quiet. Very pleasant welcome and helpful owners. Excellent location for Canterbury centre.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robandjo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

We are proud of our breakfasts. My previous many years experience as a chef seem to have paid off !! Lovely comments, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We spent two nights and we enjoyed the very friendly service and wonderful breakfasts. The room was very clean and comfortable. Harriet House is a nice short walk to the center of town. We live in the States and we found the place via their website. We found their directions accurate. If we return to Canterbury we will return here.

Room Tip: Their website is very informative. The room downstairs has the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pckendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

It was lovely to meet you. We are glad you found our driving directions easy. Upon booking (by phone or via our website) we always send a confirmation email with directions and arrival details etc. Most of our guests print this out to make their journeys easier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Good webside. Most friendly and helpful hosts in this B&B, clean and beautiful rooms with small posters telling where to find what, easy parking with a short walk to town center - all in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Thank you for your positive comments. We manage our website ourselves so it is always up to date and features local info including some seasonal suggestions. Guests can also book rooms online at our website where we offer our best rates guaranteed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Comfortable rooms, good breakfast and an owner who was helpful with a "can do" attitude. My sister and I were very pleased to find a B and B with two single rooms

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

It is always a pleasure to meet such lovely people. Our single ensuite rooms are always popular and offer the same facilities as all our other rooms. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. All our eggs are from a local farm and our bacon is delivered regularly from a local award winning butcher. We also make all our own bread which is delicious toasted !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have been staying in Harriet House with five persons and we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, the very clean rooms, the excellent breakfast and the near to the town centre. Very helpful was the description on the website how to find Harriet House by car.
The friendly service convinced us to stay there again another time visiting Kent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackforest9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

It is always very rewarding when previous guests return to stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Just spent two nights at Harriet House and couldn't fault it. Excellant location,quiet and only a 10 minute stroll to the cathedral and town centre.Room was en-suite well decorated with a comfy bed and tea, coffee and biscuits .Nice choice of breakfast, you choose your own time,taken in a cosy breakfast room. Terry and Chris were very helpful about sightseeing and where to eat .All in all our short break was just perfect and we'll stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C_M7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Thank you for your kind review. All our beds are good quality hotel beds and have recently been renewed along with all of the bedroom furniture. Our breakfast room was also redecorated earlier this year. Guide books are essential for planning trips but we like to suggest local places and attractions that we enjoy too. Always happy to help !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.8 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.9 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#6 of 16 in Canterbury
1,985 reviews
0.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,181 reviews
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
741 reviews
4.2 km away
Iffin Farmhouse
Iffin Farmhouse
#2 of 74 in Canterbury
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet House B&B

Address: Market Way, Canterbury CT2 7JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range: $129 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harriet House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 10-minute walk along the River Stour from the very heart of beautiful, historic Canterbury, this well-established 4-star Silver award winning bed and breakfast offers comfortable en suite rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Harriet House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing