We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent guest house!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harriet House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harriet House B&B
Ranked #3 of 81 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent guest house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed two nights at Harriet House whilst visiting the University of Kent. The guest house is ideally situated for the city of Canterbury - the city centre is around a 10 minute walk.
The room was very clean, comfortable and quiet and the guest house has parking, which is crucial in a city location.
The breakfast was lovely with a choice of cooked breakfast and continental, with lovely home made toast.
The owners, Chris and Terry were very welcoming , and also provided excellent directions for reaching the guest house.
I would highly recommend Harriet House if you are looking for a central base for Canterbury.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DONNYLOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    86
    15
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
188
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed here for one night. Excellent accommodation. Within walking distance of Canterbury, able to park car in guest house car park. Breakfast was really good. Hosts are very helpful.
Decorated & furnished to a high standard.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotobuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind comments are valuable feedback to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay. What makes the difference is that in a city like Canterbury, where parking is difficult, there is free off street parking. Also as we were a party of three adults, they have a double and single room at the top of the house with a shared bathroom. And the tariff reflects that there are only three guests. Spotlessly clean, convenient location and the best breakfasts ever. The owner goes that extra mile to make certain that you get the most out of your stay. Highly recommended on all levels

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Martin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
We look forward to seeing you again at Harriet House. Our car park offers a space for each guest room and enables guests to explore Canterbury on foot without parking worries and extra costs. Many thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed 4 nights at Harriet House and I would highly recommend it. Very clean and tidy. I can't fault it at all. There is ample parking. The breakfasts are excellent. My room was very clean and had everything you would need, TV, tea and coffee etc. Also very quiet. Very pleasant welcome and helpful owners. Excellent location for Canterbury centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robandjo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
We are proud of our breakfasts. My previous many years experience as a chef seem to have paid off !! Lovely comments, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We spent two nights and we enjoyed the very friendly service and wonderful breakfasts. The room was very clean and comfortable. Harriet House is a nice short walk to the center of town. We live in the States and we found the place via their website. We found their directions accurate. If we return to Canterbury we will return here.

Room Tip: Their website is very informative. The room downstairs has the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pckendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
It was lovely to meet you. We are glad you found our driving directions easy. Upon booking (by phone or via our website) we always send a confirmation email with directions and arrival details etc. Most of our guests print this out to make their journeys easier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Good webside. Most friendly and helpful hosts in this B&B, clean and beautiful rooms with small posters telling where to find what, easy parking with a short walk to town center - all in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thank you for your positive comments. We manage our website ourselves so it is always up to date and features local info including some seasonal suggestions. Guests can also book rooms online at our website where we offer our best rates guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Comfortable rooms, good breakfast and an owner who was helpful with a "can do" attitude. My sister and I were very pleased to find a B and B with two single rooms

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OwnerHarrietHouse, Owner at Harriet House B&B, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
It is always a pleasure to meet such lovely people. Our single ensuite rooms are always popular and offer the same facilities as all our other rooms. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. All our eggs are from a local farm and our bacon is delivered regularly from a local award winning butcher. We also make all our own bread which is delicious toasted !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.0 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
0.9 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
1.9 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.9 km away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 81 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harriet House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harriet House B&B

Property: Harriet House B&B
Address: Market Way, Canterbury CT2 7JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harriet House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 10-minute walk along the River Stour from the very heart of beautiful, historic Canterbury, this well-established 4-star Silver award winning bed and breakfast offers comfortable en suite rooms and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Harriet House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing