We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gail H” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gail H”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at the annex to this hotel with 3 friends in April 2012. We had 2 twin bedded rooms which were fantastic value at £60 each a night. This entitled us to a free breakfast in the 4 star part of the hotel and unlimited visits to the cathedral as well as free parking in the centre of Canterbury. The staff were really helpful and very friendly. Each night they chilled our bottle of wine and let us put our nibbles in their fridge. They helped us locate restaurants we wanted to visit and showed us round the hotel so we knew where to find the gardens and the library. It felt very special ringing the bell each evening at the big wooden door leading into the Cathedral compound after we had gone out for a meal and showing our admittance passes. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel was really lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are brilliant value for money and when we looked at the more expensive rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerinhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    289
    64
    14
    9
See reviews for
151
606
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Cathedral Lodge in Canterbury, this last weekend (Friday 20th - Sunday 22nd April 2012). The room was large, clean and comfortable. It was very affordable and the breakfast they provided was excellent. The only critism was the matresses were quite soft, and we were situated at the back of the Burgate building, thus we could hear every type of noise from the shops and bars from that part of town. This is not the lodges fault, just have to bear that in mind when booking a city centre hotel. On a positive note it was really conviently situated to all parts of the attractions of the city, and with your stay you got free access to the Cathedral, and discounts and some restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Canterbury. The hotel was value for money, anad the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. If we plan another night/weekend in Canterbury again, we would definately be booking a room at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdrop2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay here at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. I was very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you felt it represented good value for money. We are due to commence a refurbishment programme in our value rooms within the next three months and I hope the mattress selection may be more to your taste for any future visits you might make.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have no complaints at all and found the lodge to be very good value but for one problem - the bed matresses !

They are so soft they provide hardly any support whatsoever. We stayed 2 nights - first night in a double bed which could have doubled as a trampoline ! The second night we had 2 single beds but again the matresses were so soft we would have been more comfortable on the floor !

When we discussed the matter with a very polite receptionist we were informed that the matresses had only been recently renewed so unfortunately we won't be back until they are changed to something more comfortable.
Why didn't the lodge management choose something in between ? i.e.medium/soft ?

AS most of our fellow guests were ' of a certain maturity' We are sure this problem would have been common to most.

WE would love to stay again but a good nights sleep is essential to happy sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your constructive comments following your stay here at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We are currently in the process of replacing our mattresses and have tried to ensure we have selected a mattress which appeals to a broad range of tastes. If you would like to contact me directly and let me know which rooms you stayed in during your visit, I will be more than happy to advise if these rooms have indeed had a new mattress.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Most rooms seem to be oriented to give clear view of Cathedral, nice quiet oasis to return to.

Perfect poached eggs in the breakfast with a large range of other foods in the buffet, helpful staff.

Room Tip: The staff will help you get a cathedral view, I think most of the rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear how pleased you were with the view from your room and the quality of our food offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We visited the lodge in April and will be going back. Great hotel, location and friendly staff. Have recommended it to numerous people!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iver47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is my fourth stay at the Canterbury Lodge,It is situated in the grounds of the Cathederal and I just love the tranquillity,you have free admittance into the cathederal and outside the main gate you are right in the heart of town with lots of bistros, shops& bars.
Each time I go I always find something else to do,the trip down the river is nice in a punting boat and a museum with the original Bagpuss.
Breakfast is very good and the staff friendly

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillyportchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to hear how much you continue to enjoy coming to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This was the perfect place to stay to experience Canterbury at its best. We paid an extra £5 to be able to park within the cathedral walls & it was so easy to park. The lodge itself is completely opposite the cathedral & most rooms will overlook the cathedral's beauty. We stayed in room 107 & it was faultless. The double bed was comfortable, excellent shower, tea & coffee, tv & enough wardrobe space for 1 night. Everything you need but it was the view we came for & were not disappointed. Within the room rate you get free entry into the cathedral & private time to wander around the grounds at night. After 9pm you ring a bell & a security guard lets you in. After hour drinks are available in the library which was a lovely way to end a brilliant day. The breakfast the next morning was also very good with everything you would expect from a full english breakfast. Every member of staff we encountered were very helpful & polite. We will definitely be returning again.....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCLManager, General Manager at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us here at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the view from your room and I was particularly pleased to read your comments about the staff and service received during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#11 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury Cathedral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Property: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Address: Canterbury Cathedral Lodge The Precincts, Canterbury CT1 2EH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canterbury Cathedral Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the grounds of the magnificent Canterbury Cathedral you’ll find the perfect retreat. The best located accommodation in the City - rooms are in a private courtyard and provide stunning views of Canterbury Cathedral, which guests also enjoy free entry to. You will receive a dedicated, friendly service in a setting that’s peaceful, secure and relaxing. It’s the ideal base to explore Canterbury’s picturesque, cobbled streets and visit the City’s excellent eateries and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Canterbury Cathedral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canterbury Cathedral Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing