We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

The Ambrette Canterbury
Ranked #12 of 389 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian, Fusion
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Great service, friendly staff and food was absolutely amazing. This may well have jumped in to the 1st place of our favourite local restaurant. Why have we not discovered this before. Spices that linger on the taste buds..... Exceptional. Lunch menu, 3 courses for £14.95 - very good value but food that just speaks for itself. We shall definitely be back :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Suchard007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrette K, Guest Relations Manager at The Ambrette Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Suchard007,

Thank you so much for your review and for rating us with five stars. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2018

A superb meal. Enjoyed all courses, but my favourites were saffron infused prawn in filo basket, clove smoked quail, spring lamb in white sauce and mango kulfi. Excellent service, as always. Look forward to the next tasting menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lynne473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrette K, Guest Relations Manager at The Ambrette Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear lynne473,

Thank you ever so much for your review and for rating us with five stars. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We visited Ambrette on Mother’s Day expecting good things as we’d previously visited Ambrette at Margate on a number of occasions and had excellent food and service to match - I can only assume that they found it difficult to cater for large numbers as when we arrived we stood for too long without anyone acknowledging us - we were shown to the table and it was an age before we our drinks order was taken and then we were given the menu by one waiter who told us that the Sunday lunch was off, we questioned this and was then told it was available - when we came to order I looked to order of the a la carte be told it wasn’t available and when I explained I’d been told it was the waiter argued he hadn’t said that when I never said it was as it was a different waiter that left the menus - the shame was that when the food arrived it was superb and in fairness as the restaurant quietened down the service at the end of the meal was as you’d expect

1  Thank Srb870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

I find it amusing that people found the roast here to be 'odd' or 'weird'. There is nothing odd or weird about it. It was mostly a classic roast dinner but delicately and less traditionally spiced. The Indian flavours were perfectly married with the dish, such that I'm not sure I ever want to eat a 'normal' roast again. The lamb was a highlight, perfectly cooked and seasoned. The potatoes were infused with something such that they were sweet and fluffy. The Yorkshire puddings were soft and buttery and the sweet potato bhaji was a wonderful addition. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any foodie.

Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrette K, Guest Relations Manager at The Ambrette Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Dear Claudia S,

Thank you ever so much for such a lovely review and for rating us with five stars. We are very pleased to hear that your Sunday Lunch with is was good and that you enjoyed it.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

The food is an amazing fusion of Indian and English dishes with a spicy flair. So much to choose from there is definitely something to suit every taste. 1st class service from friendly staff with good knowledge of their dishes. Will absolutely be going back. Great place to visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambrette K, Public Relations Manager at The Ambrette Canterbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Kelly M,

Thank you very much for your review and for rating us with five stars.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ambrette Canterbury also viewed

 
Sturry, Canterbury
 

Been to The Ambrette Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing