We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner”

The Old Coach & Horses
Ranked #32 of 392 Restaurants in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$32
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A lovely old English Coach House in the picturesque village of Harbledown. Just 5 minutes drive from Canterbury City Centre, or a leisurely 15 minute walk. A village pub with a friendly, informal atmosphere serving top qualtiy food from local suppliers and seasonal ingredients. Open for Lunch and Dinner every day, serving a wide range of local beers, cask ales and the finest wines. There is also a lighter bites Lunch/Garden every lunchtime excluding Sundays. Our garden is simply breathtaking with stunning views of the surrounding woods. Open for drinks all day. Now open for lunch and dinner Mondays.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well the food was OK. Service poor. But our eyes watered the whole time we were there and we left smelling as if we had spent the evening working in a chip shop! All our clothes needed washing or airing our afterwards.

Date of visit: November 2018
4  Thank 42JFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Could not find any faults, great service with a smile and food was outstanding. Very picturesque, clean and good atmosphere. Will eat here again when visiting Canterbury.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stevepC5211SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was attentive and friendly our table on the top floor was picturesque.
Most importantly the Sunday Roast was the best we have had in a long time.The Meat was plentiful and cooked to perfection
Excellent country village pub atmosphere
Particular mention should be made regarding the Roast Belly of Pork it was heaven on a plate

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank StephenH2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018 via mobile

We used trip advisor to find somewhere to eat with a young family in the Canterbury area. The Old Coach and Horses was bright, clean and welcoming and the staff very friendly (particularly good with both our children). Menus were explained and we were warned that the food was cooked from fresh so there may be a wait. There was one but boy was it worth it! My husband had the pork belly and special pudding of G&T sorbet and declared it the best meal he had had in a long time! My fish pie was delicious too. We are wondering whether we can return again and we are only in the area two nights! Heartily recommend especially for families.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

An excellent Sunday Lunch was had by my me and my family. We all had the 3 meat roast and were not disappointed. A little pricey for the lunch but when all of the meat is locally sourced it’s worth every penny. My only niggle is it could have done with a bit more gravy.

We will definitely be visiting this pub again!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank CKDC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Coach & Horses also viewed

Bramling, Canterbury
 
Tyler Hill, Canterbury
 
Chartham, Canterbury
 

Been to The Old Coach & Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing