We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a joy!!!”
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room
Main Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Breakfast in the Garden
Broadstairs, a lovely walk
Dumpton Gap, nearest beach
Ramsgate Marina
Pugin's House
Kingsgate Beach, so tranquil
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
judi r
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a joy!!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Loved this place, relaxed, cosy and well equipped but best of all for us -dog friendly!! Our Jack Russell thought he was in heaven, one step out of the front door and he was in the park, a short walk through the park and there's the beach, he couldn't believe his luck!! A thoroughly lovely cottage for all year round breaks and a big thank you to Denise for her friendly welcome!! (Next time we go we will take a couple of torches -its incredibly dark at night!!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn K
1 review
“Serenity and unbeatable scenery of nature.”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spend as a family with two sons,17 and 18 years and two English Bulldogs a wonderful holiday in this cosy,lovely old house where you can feel some history, breath the sea air, hear the sound of the seagulls when you drink a coffe in the morning and see the squirrels playing in the sunrize from your bedroomn-window....So if you want to dive into silence pureness and nature, that means everythings taken you away from stress and noise,so in the Gate House in Ramsgate you are in the right place. Our two English Bulldogs had also a great stay cause thye had their own entertainment center( the beautiful parc ) just out of the door. This house has everything you need for a stay with the whole family. All sky chains in tv ( which was cool for our sons ),parking,nice decoration in all rooms,a full furnished kitchen and a nice walled-garden. You are close to Ramsgate-Harbour and all the shops,pubs restaurants etc. A short but wonderful walk along the beach to Broadstairs where we can recommand "The Tamarind",a very good indian restaurant. Go to visit The shell Grotto in Margate it's beautiful and The Botany Bay will make you speechless.....Thanks to the owner,family Francis-Hill for the welcome bottle of wine and for letting us live for two unforgettable weeks with our dogs in your Gate House.We want to come back and hide away once again from stress and noise....Family Walravens Patrick and Tanja,Cédric and Yannick,"Sparky and Amy"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The loacation where the house was situated
Liked least: That bedlinen was not funished
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerly58
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in June 2013

Long overdue review but as I am just about to book a break here for the THIRD time, I noticed someone left a negative review. Whilst everyone is entitled to their opinion, in this case, such a review is totally unjustified. This house is a gem! A real home from home and the décor and facilities are really good and have certainly been clean on my previous two visits. I, personally prefer to take all my own bedding- plus throws for the furniture as I have two dogs and am very careful to not leave a trace of them. The housekeeper is lovely and her standards are excellent. I would highly recommend this house- it is lovely, the location is amazing- especially for kids and dogs, you don't need to drive anywhere! I think the negative review was written by someone who lives in an antiseptic bubble and takes hand sanitiser everywhere! I LOVE the Gate House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dede19o
1 review
“Magical home from home!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Gate House is superb & the location is wonderful!
The service was exceptional from start to finish.
We loved the quirky homeliness & would highly recommend it for somewhere with a rustic charm like no other.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amandaree...
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enchanted hide away for relaxing”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Superb location, perfect place to de-stress....wonderful beach walks and fabulous park, all of which our dog adored....Thank you Maya & family x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iain b
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A perfect loication for a fabulous holiday”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and i have just returned from a fantastic week at the Gate House, With direct access to the park and only a short walk to the clifftop path and beaches, the location was perfect for our dogs to enjoy long and very scenic walks. The secure courtyard garden was a bonus. The Gate House is very comfortable and a real home from home. It is well equipped and provides everything you would require to enjoy your stay.

We regularly walked to both Broadstairs and Ransgate, which are within easy walking distance and provide a variety of shops, restaurants and bars, which to enjoy.

I cannot wait to return to the Gatehouse later in the year!

with which gives direct access to the beaches at Dupton Park and Ramsgate, this was On the edge of the Parkme from

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location on the park
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annique P
1 review
“Cute little house on great location”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

With little effort of the owner this charming one of a kind house could be taken to a higher level and be well worth its price: WiFi! More and personalized information in the house, there's only a few flyers, some with only a internet address (not very useful without internet access), for instance I would like to know about the tides - is it possible to walk from one beach to another? - and local markets; blackout curtains in the bedrooms, you can read a book in bed at four in the morning with the lights out; a professional cleaning every now and then, the couches where full of stains and animal hairs, the interiors of the cupboards where filthy; good cutlery (a non serrated knife for meats and vegetables!) and a chopping board of more hygienic plastic (rather than wooden boards standing on the floor); more and clean (please!) tea and hand towels for the kitchen; empty waste containers; linen on the beds! Bushes pruned for access to patio and waste containers.
Perhaps I'm mistaken but it seems to me like the owners haven't been to the house in a long time and the housekeeper doesn't care less. Conclusion: The house is not up to it's full potential. The location can hardly be beaten.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location in the park and near the beaches is great
Liked least: No WiFi and not so clean
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
WE are disappointed by this appraisal of the Gate House. The sofas are not covered in dog hairs - although, as we are happy for guests to bring a family dog, there may well be the odd dog hair to be found on the dark blue covers.
The cupboards are perfectly clean - this is our seaside retreat too. And wood is a naturally hygienic surface (ask the experts). We don't have WiFi. The Gate House is a listed building and we chose not to spoil it with cabling (a wireless modem works perfectly well).
But most of all, we are unhappy about the attack on our conscientious housekeeper - who looks after the house - and our guests very well.
Four families stayed at the cottage in April and May - the other three left delightful comments in our guest book. One lady was on a visit from New Zealand and she wrote: "A wonderful environment for adults and children. Worth the journey."
The Gate House is a quirky, old cottage. It is not for everyone - just those who have a touch of romance in their make-up.
PS: We will put blackout blinds in the bedrooms.
MAYA FRANCIS-HILL
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing