We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very handy location”
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room
Main Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Breakfast in the Garden
Broadstairs, a lovely walk
Dumpton Gap, nearest beach
Ramsgate Marina
Pugin's House
Kingsgate Beach, so tranquil
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
MBG812
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“a gem with problems”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Gate House is a historical building which lies at the entrance of a park not far from the beach. It could be a gem among Ramsgate's holiday homes, but....... In 20+ years renting holiday homes in England this was the dirtiest. When we first entered the kitchen every surface - including microwave and toaster - was dirty and sticky. One of the kitchen cabinets seemed to have been used for storing provisions by generations of renters. It had not been cleaned out for quite some time, and spider webs and things you didn't want to take a closer look at were attached to the leftover food. Some of the dishes had dried food remnants attached. The separate ground floor toilette had an open storage space which contained half open filled plastic bags one of which had a used handkerchief on top. The sofas were filthy and stained. More could be mentioned. All in all the house is in serious need of a thorough basic cleaning and tidying out.
It could be a gem!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
OH dear, we seem to have the very occasional problem with Continental visitors who do not appreciate our vibe. If we are looking for soulless but pristine 5-star space, our cottage is not for you.
The sofas are not filthy but they have enjoyed the attentions of a few exuberant children and dogs - we do not turn away people who want to bring a pet (or a child or two).
We could throw away all food left behind (easier for us) but chose to leave things which may to useful to other guests - tea, dried pasta, olive oil, sugar, salt etc. As for "generations of renters," we have only been sharing the house for four years.
We use the house regularly, and I have never found kitchen equipment to be less than clean. Most visitors have high personal standards and so does our housekeeper.
Yes, we border woodland so we also have spider guests - we do not kill them we coax them outside (usually using a jam jar.)
Finally, nothing perishable is kept under the stairs in the downstairs loo. It is simply storage in a small cottage. Come to the Gate House only if you value simplicity and charm.
Maya Francis-Hill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janeecarm
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very handy location”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Overall our experience staying at the Gatehouse was super - however I would say that it could be instantly improved by providing linen for the beds. I arrived with three small children and my disabled mum and the last thing I wanted to do when starting a holiday was make beds. It would really have made a difference if this simple thing could have been included. Similarly, if the travel cot could have been put up and made ready this would really have been helpful.

The house is small but quirky, and very well equipped for kitchen and beach. The toy and book cupboard has seen better days. The bathroom was clean. Toilet paper, coffee, tea and some other basics (pasta, oil etc left behind by other guests) were also provided.

The house is right on the edge of the King George VI park, with a kids' playpark within five minutes walk and a bacon sandwich / icecream kiosk within ten. You can get down onto the beach within 15 minutes - lots of interesting shells to look at, and sand to play on depending on the tide. Also, right next door a little tearoom with an interesting 'Century Plant' blooming right out of the roof of the greenhouse.

The beds and rooms were comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils and food basics including pasta. tea, coffee etc

The only other issue was the DVD player.....I could not get it to work. I think this may have been because the batteries had gone in the remote control but am not sure. Whatever the cause, it was rather frustrating! Instructions for those unfamiliar with TV/AV stuff might be useful. The toy / book cupboard was a nice thought but everything in it was a little tired. The bucket and spade etc were useful for the beach.

Overall would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Beds not made up
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lovely building, brilliant games cupboard”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had three nights at The Gate House earlier this month - that's me, my husband, our 4 year old son and our two staffordshire bull terrier puppies. It looked lovely online and did not disappoint in reality. Facilities all good, nothing missing that we needed though it would have been nice to have a BBQ (if there was one there we couldn't find it). Location perfect. Weather could have been better but I guess the owners couldn't control that. The toys cupboard was a very thoughtful touch and my son loved the knights. Deffo double thumbs up. I have already been in touch with the owner to see if we can get another weekend in this Summer but sadly (but not surprisingly) it's booked up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I asked my son this and he said 'I liked everyfink'
Liked least: DvD wasn't working, BBQ?, could do with a spring clean
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerly58
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't stay away!”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just paid our fourth visit to the Gate House- it has become my home from home.
I have two dogs and to find such a perfect place to holiday with dogs is rare
Not only is the house right in a huge beautiful park, but it has direct access to the massive beach, which allows dogs all year round. As a bonus, there is a beach café and toilets, plus a tap for water top ups for the dogs. There is also a café in the park
There are shops nearby too
A big thank you too, to Dee, the housekeeper. The house is beautifully kept and Dee is so obliging and friendly
Really, we do nothing more than walk to the beach, lunch at the café, sit on the beach watching the world go by and then returning home for more relaxation!
It truly is the most heavenly place and I will, of course, be visiting again as soon as I can
Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnold12...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quaint house, full of character”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Gatehouse is a lovely cottage, leading out to park. Lovely walks, really enjoyed our time. A great place to explore Dover castle, shell grotto at Margate and Deal Castle.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerly58
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If there is a heaven.....”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well I've been to the Gatehouse AGAIN! THis time I took a friend who had not visited the area before. She was as enamoured as me- it is just the perfect place for complete relaxation. Excellent dog walking, fabulous beaches, friendly people, handy shops etc, good bars and cafes. And to top all that, the house is just a jewel! We will be back and thank you for letting us share your lovely house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandieb26...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming Gate House”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

What a find - lovely old and quirky house, right on the edge of a great park in Ramsgate. Easy access to Ramsgate and the walk to Broadstairs via Dumpton Gap is beautiful along the coast.
The house has everything you need in a place to stay, including a cosy fireplace!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quirkiness of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$117
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing