We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely old house in great location”
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
The Gate House, Ramsgate
Sitting Room
Main Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Breakfast in the Garden
Broadstairs, a lovely walk
Dumpton Gap, nearest beach
Ramsgate Marina
Pugin's House
Kingsgate Beach, so tranquil
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Gary C
1 review
“Lovely old house in great location”
Reviewed May 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Perfect for visiting Ramsgate and Broadstairs. Dogs loved the park and beach, plenty to do in area.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Glad you enjoyed the house and area!
Maya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Period Property”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We rented this property for a family break for four adults and two children. We just about fitted but I was aware of that when we booked. Maya was helpful throughout the booking process and Kylie provided us with a warm welcome.

The gate House is a beautiful period property located just inside the King George V! Memorial Park in Ramsgate. It was once the gate house of the now long gone home of Moses Montefiore who has a plaque on the property itself.

The house was charming full of period features that enhanced the stay. There were excellent facilities (washing machine, dishwasher, oven) in the kitchen, a smart TV and wi-fi in the living room and a small courtyard garden to relax in outside - although being located in the park that latter was not needed!

The children enjoyed the park's play area just a short walk (or run!) away. Whilst there are two toilets there was only one shower (no bath) which meant getting out in the morning took longer than usual but we were on holiday so who cares.

The property is conveniently located. The beautiful Italianate Glasshouse And Tea Garden is practically next door whilst is less than a 10 minute stroll through the gardens to the beach at Dumpton Cove. Both the centre of Ramsgate and Broadstairs are easily walkable with the latter being slightly longer. As you week into Ramsgate you will pass the War Tunnels which are a must visit and pre-booking is advised.

You may have to stock up on supplies as the nearest shops are 15-20 minutes walk away. Dumpton Park train station is nearby should you want to head further to the likes of Margate or Canterbury.

The only downside was bringing our own bed linen as advised when booking as we were coming by train. If you sleep with the windows open early dog walkers and park users may wake you but to be honest it's a small price to pay for staying in a unique property.

We are regular visitors to the Thanet coast and this was our first time staying in Ramsgate. It will not be our last.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Glad you enjoyed it, Tom. Be lovely to have you back. Maya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh S
2 reviews
“Lovely house in a park near the beach”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Lovely historic house in a park. The beach is 5 mins walk through the park. We had a great time. Thanks!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
We always love it too. All the best, Maya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettyann...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dog Friendly accomadation and beach”
Reviewed July 26, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great location with the property over looking the park and just a short walk to a dog friendly beach. Lovely and relaxing time spent there, totally enjoyable week. Looking forward to returning later this year.
Thank you Maya and Kiley

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Dear Bettyann,
It is always special to welcome returning guests. We look forward to seeing you again!
best wishes, Maya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerly58
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just been to the Gate House for another visit
As usual, we had a great time in this perfect location
The weather was perfect
Actually, we have never had bad weather on our many visits
As for the house- what can I say?
For us it is a home from home
Cosy, welcoming, relaxing
It matters to me that the decor etc is right up my street- makes me comfortable!
We will, of course, be back to enjoy the Gate House, Dumpton beach and cafe, Broadstair's bandstand and teacakes, the gorgeous park outside the front door and all our Kent dog loving pals!
Thanks Maya- it's a gem

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Dear Jill,
We so enjoy sharing the "doll's castle" with someone who loves it as much as we do...
Best, Maya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornasand...
Manchester UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We (my parents, husband, kids, dog and I) holidayed at the gatehouse. It was just wonderful. The house is beautiful, comfy, well stocked with kitchen and play stuff. It's in such a gorgeous park, a short wander to the beach and so comfy, clean and bright. Can't wait to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
It is always a pleasure to share our house with guests who appreciate its mellow charm. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Maya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corine W
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a park”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely time in The Gate House, which was located in the park and a short walk away from the beautiful white clifs. We walked a few times with our dog through the park down to the beach and then over the beach to Broadstairs.
The house is a realy nice place to stay, with good beds (only the third bedroom good do with a real bed as others already wrote in their review). The only minor thing for me was the kitchen which can do with some tlc. We liked Walmer Castle and Deal, but also Canteburry with its cathedral was worth to visit. For our teen the Ashford Designer Outlet was a hit. We had a lovely week with super sunny weather☀️

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The kitchen could do with some tlc
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
All the bedrooms are bright and charming, but the third is rather dinky. One of your party needs to be no more than 6ft tall. It really is a doll's house castle!
Regards, Maya
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing