We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wish we'd stayed longer”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Broadoak House

Broad Oak House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Broad Oak House
2nd Bedroom Principal Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
17 reviews
Broad Oak House
2nd Bedroom
Principal Bedroom
Patio available for guest use
View from Balcony
View from balcony
Bathroom
Bathroom
Kitchen
2nd Bedroom
Kitchen/living room
2nd Bedroom
Living Area
Dining Hall
Living Area
3rd Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kirsty R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wish we'd stayed longer”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were a mixed group of 5 friends in our mid 20s and we loved this place. The apartment was so spacious and bigger than the photos let on. Each room had a sink in it which we thought was cool, and the rooms were clean and tidy. The shower was nice and powerful and there was even a nice bath. We wish we'd stayed longer than 2 nights as we spent the majority of the weekend at a wedding in Cranbrook rather than enjoying the lovely apartment and area of Royal Tunbridge Wells.

The only downsides the place was the fact the shower tray filled up with water after 3 minutes meaning our showers were very rushed, but the previous guests hadn't told the owners so they hadn't known it needed fixing. I informed the owner on our departure and she informed me she would get someone in to fix it before the next guests arrived. The other downside was having to be out by 10am on the Sunday (especially after partying at a wedding until 2:30am that morning). Just an extra hour in bed would have made our 4 hour journey home a little more bearable, and given us time to write in the visitors book.

Overall a lovely stay and we all said we'd like to come back and stay there again. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: How massive the place was
Liked least: Having to check out by 10am
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissappointed”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Firstly my review has no reflection on the owner just the description is a little misleading and more suitable for student accommodation. There is around 50 steep external stairs leading the only way to the front door. Upon entry the home was musty and mouldy. Very small fridge for a family, not at all suitable for children as windows easily opened from great heights. Cot had a peice of foam wrapped in a sheet, duvet cover had a blood stain and old small TV. No comfort only be suitable for prime location. We got a refund thankfully and stayed elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2015
I feel that I must respond to the last two posts as they contain "inaccuracies".
First of all, both posts were from the same party, who didn't even stay at the property. They arrived, couldn't manage the stairs, and left with a 100% no quibble refund despite the fact they the booking was for 3 weeks in the Summer and I had no hope of rebooking those weeks.
I respond to their points with the following FACTS:
1. It is made very clear in the advert that this is a top (2nd) floor flat. It says top floor on the very first line of the ad and 2nd floor in the body of the ad. There are 40 steps. They are both wide and deep.
2. There is no mould in the flat which is both clean and airy. The flat was granted full marks for cleanliness when inspected by the English Tourist Board.
3. The large kitchen has an under counter fridge, plus an under counter freezer, plus an empty cupboard for food that does not need to be refridgerated.
4. The cot matress is a British Kite Marked cot mattress purchased from Mothercare. The linen is clean and unstained.
5. The 38 inch flat screen TV was brand new less than 12 months ago.
6. These "guests" asked for my best price and were paying less that £83 a night for a three bedroomed flat with lots of parking only 200 metres from The Pantiles. They were clearly looking for 5 start luxury at 3 star prices.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettro
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Utterly dissapointing”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

on arrival could not believe the fire escape stairs to climb up with luggage in wet weather lethal definitely not a place to stay with kids inside dark dingy no fresh air could only leave windows open if no small kids could not leave door open with kids stains on doona kitchen looked dirty or tired didn't look that hard as we moved out after a short time not my kind of holiday let would spit backpackers young people but do not look at this property if you are used to nice accomodation it will disappoint and if you have bad knees don't even attempt

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evaldas24
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cool”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Nice area
Good codicion
Near to station
2 minutes shop
Amazing price
Garden& baskedball place
Thanks

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaida P
Kaunas, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, a lof of space.”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was 9 adults and 1 child. We absolutely loved it. If you are looking to stay in this area, this place is the perfect location. Just few minutes walk from the old town and Sainsbury's. The shops, train station, bus stops is just a few minutes walk. However the place is very quiet, nice surrounding, big garden and a basketball yard. A nice barbeque area. The rooms are spacious, the bathroom has a bath and a shower. Huge kitchen with all the facilities: microwave, dishwasher, washing mashine, dryer, oven, fridge, freezer and so on. We loved it! Perfect place for a low price!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. It would be nice to see you again if you are coming this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyTan...
UK
1 review
“Very spacious and well located”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a lovely stay here. The rooms were very spacious and had lovely views. The property is very close to the Pantiles, so closely situated to the old town, but is still nice and quiet and tranquil. It's easy to explore the local town and shops, find something to eat or any provisions you need, or go for a walk amongst the trees nearby - the HIgh Rocks aren't far. With a little TLC this place could be amazing it's true, but everything works fine and you've got plenty of room to spread yourself about. If we need somewhere in the area we'll certainly be back. Thank you!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandasue2...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much potential”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Such a shame that this potentially lovely holiday let is so let down by the very grubby and neglected state of the place. It is in a great position, lovely views, access to the shops, off road parking, and has a brilliantly equipped kitchen, a very smartly fitted bathroom and all of the beds were comfortable. But... we were so disappointed to find it so dirty. The dishwasher was half full of the last peoples dirty crocks, the shower drain was throwing up black lumps of congealed soap, The toilet needed a good clean and the toilet brush was disgusting. The iron poured water out, potentially ruining a dress, one of the bench seats was so dusty and made a mess of a pair of trousers and the hairdryer didn't work. Admittedly there was no hairdryer or iron listed but these things are usually provided. We accepted that access was via three flights of a fire escape stairway but leaves and an overhanging tree made this more testing. We were there for my family to be together to attend my sons wedding, we were able to cope, but it is such a shame because a few £'s and a good days cleaning would have changed the experience completely. I am writing this because I see that others have commented on the grubby state before and it has not been addressed. I see that people come to this accommodation from all over the world and I would hate them to think that this is normal here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: See comments
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing