We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
44
68
52
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
68
52
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews be coming here again chicken kebab family meal university reunion pub downstairs great value for money quick visit lovely meal lovely friendly staff large tv full english breakfast be visiting again bed was comfortable free car parking very pleasant stay hull city centre raffle
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 207 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Visited for dinner as it is local. First visit since the refurbishment. Nice big place. Found a table easily. Although almost all tables were full of dirty plates and glasses. Service slow, though the bartender was very cheerful even after running out of ice and salad. Food seemed average microwave fodda but tasted fine and pretty cheap. Good for standard pub fayre but don't expect anything more .

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend. Very good rate, £52 for a twin room. The beds were comfy and clean. Bar areas and outside seating areas were great. We had a full English breakfast which was excellent.
The bus stops right outside with direct route directly into Hull city centre (103, 105). Great place to as a base to explore Hull.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jstan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Visited the Old Grey Mare for a Saturday night out. First time for a while as the draft hand pull beer is normally below standard putting us off the place. No change, the draft beer is still not kept very well. Hard to find a clean table, food leftovers, sticky tables, staff slow to clear tables from previous diners, Menu cards sticky. The staff mean well but clearly lack supervision. there is no sign of management front of house to keep on top of the general organization of bar service, catering and cleanliness. Sad because this place could and should be a regular visit for my friends and I. Lacks good management.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank robinson102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

After initially being disappointed because I have an egg allergy and both their beef burgers and fish and chips contained egg so I was left with my third (and most expensive option) of steak and chips. After being in Hull for 4 years on and off for University this was actually my first time ordering food at the Old Grey Mare.
It was a nice steak and the staff were very helpful in trying to figure out what on the menu would kill me and what wouldn't.
I do love the Old Grey Mare but it would be great if ingredients in the food could be looked at so it's easier for people with food allergies.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018

busy night in the pub and staff sullen and didn't seem to be able to prioritise customers over table clearing. Food was ok, although the cod was overcooked. choice of ales was underwhelming. Welcoming interior and clean toilets.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 95,708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews