We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day out ”
Review of The Deep

The Deep
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in Hull, The Deep is an award winning aquarium home to 3,500 fish including green sawfish, spectacular sharks, rays and a colony of Gentoo penguins. Journey through the story of the world's oceans travelling through a unique blend of spectacular marine life from warm tropical waters to the cold Antarctic seas. Enjoy the fun and educational interactive and audio-visual presentations on your voyage of discovery. Highlights include daily dive shows and animal presentations where you can see our divers hand feed the animals. Join in with our fantastic touch pool sessions at Discovery Corner at the Lagoon of Light and learn about some of the smaller native species to the UK shores. Visit The Deep's newest residents, a colony of Gentoo penguins in chilly The Kingdom of Ice and learn more about the threats to their habitat, issues surrounding climate change and ocean acidification as well as animal biology and food chains. Finally walk through the amazing glass tunnel and take in the stunning marine life swimming all around you, before taking a ride in the glass lift through the 10m Endless Oceans exhibit. Tickets cost: Adults £12.00 Children £10.00 Under 3s free Senior/student £11.00 Family of 4 £39.50 Family of 5 £47.50 You can save 10% by booking your tickets online.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really good couple of hours out as a family and you can return as many times as you want for free in next 12 months so it’s a bargain!! We took our 6 year old who absolutely loved it. We had dinner at the cafe which is reasonably priced and the food was nice. We all really enjoyed our day out.

Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tara,
Thank you for leaving your kind feedback! It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to 'sea' you again soon!
The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fish"
in 1,008 reviews
"sea life"
in 190 reviews
"large tank"
in 72 reviews
"an aquarium"
in 55 reviews
"bubble lift"
in 46 reviews
"penguin enclosure"
in 46 reviews
"annual pass"
in 55 reviews
"gift aid"
in 51 reviews
"soft play area"
in 62 reviews
"all ages"
in 211 reviews
"picnic area"
in 63 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 55 reviews
"family ticket"
in 39 reviews
"half term"
in 60 reviews
"car park"
in 138 reviews
"school holidays"
in 83 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 58 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 3,881 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited over the bank holiday weekend as something to do while it was raining. We havnt been to the deep for a number of years so thought it might be worth re visiting. We had to que for quite some time as it was busy but well worth the wait. We spent about 2 hours walking around we could of spent longer but the kids where getting a bit fed up of waiting all the time to see into the different tanks due to the volume of people. Its very good that you can return for a year on the day pass plus tickets so well worth the money.

Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Rich,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We look forward to 'sea-ing' you again soon!
Best fishes, The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my family love visiting here. My children can roam happily, and they really enjoy finding sharks (if you are unfortunate enough to have heard 'baby shark' you will know why) the year pass makes it all worth while, giving us something to do on a low budget or on rainy days. We also love the penguins, because who doesn't?

Thank rose9214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Rose,
It's great to hear that you all enjoyed your visit!
Best fishes, The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on bank holiday Monday. We had pre booked our tickets online but still had to wait 45 minutes outside in the rail until we could go in. The car park was packed but was only £3 for a full day. But in the Deep itself there is not much there to see. A massive tank with a few turtles, sharks and sting ray centre the building and each floor has walls with information/ other smaller aquatic animals with a different viewing point of that one large tank. The prnguin enclosure was quite small and the viewing window was tiny so when they got round to feeding there was no talk and couldn’t see anything as the tiny window was crammed full of people. Was not worth the money but on the plus side we are aware of the fantastic work that the deep do with the environment and animals that at least the money is going towards something bigger. The Deep itswlf as aquarium is definitely not worth it, I visited the sea life centre in Scarborough last year and found it much more superior. Would not recommend.

Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Josh, Thanks you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The Deep has over 5200 animals housed in 52 tanks across 10 zones including invertebrates and amphibians. There are 300 species in residence, including several kinds of shark and ray. We're sorry that you felt this was not have been enough to enjoy.
Kind regards, The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to The Deep several times whilst visiting family in Hull.
Its always a great day out, but is very popular due to the annual pass scheme.
You start at the top of the building and work your way down past all the attractions, information boards, tanks, helpful staff give educational talks and you can also see the Penquin's being fed, on my last visit i was lucky enough to get to touch a star fish.
once at the bottom the lift which is built into the side of the shark tank and stops halfway to give you a change to view them close up.
The cafe is on the top floor serving reasonable priced drinks and snacks and meals.
A great day out for all the family.

1  Thank traceyjaynewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDeep-HU14DP, Public Relations Manager at The Deep, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tracey, Thank you for leaving you lovely feedback! We're really pleased you all enjoyed your visit!
Best fishes, The Deep Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Deep also viewed

Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
Kingston-upon-Hull, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Deep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing