We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most memorable wedding venue!”

Review of Blencowe Hall

Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates The gate leading to the main central range door which opens into the oak panelled entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
Blencowe Hall is a 5* rated, Grade I listed castellated manor house with 12 bedrooms, 11 bathrooms
Blencowe Hall is within the private family owned Rowley Estates
The gate leading to the main central range door which opens into the oak panelled entrance hall
The yew lined sandstone walled formal gardens at Blencowe Hall planted with shrub roses
The formal Central Gardens at Blencowe Hall - yew hedges,climbing roses, sandstone terraces & a rill
Lady Jane Grey's sister married Henry de Blencowe and Lady Jane's motto is inscribed above the door
A view towards the South Tower showing the formal stone lined rill in the foreground of the gardens
The Central Range sandstone terraces, sustainable plantation teak garden furniture & two Weber BBQs
The South Tower Dining Room opens out to the sandstone terraces via the original rent in the wall
The South Tower Dining Room with french doors opening onto the sandstone terrace and the gardens
The Dining Room at Blencowe Hall, seating for at least 24 guests
A view out from the South Tower formal Dining Room through the sandstone rent to the fields beyond
The breakfasting kitchen with Aga, two dishwashers, two fridges, washing machine,tumble dryer
A view of the 4 oven Aga, next to this is a stainless gas hob and a full size electric oven
Blencowe Hall's breakfasting kitchen also has two Bosch dishwashers, two sinks and a Bosch WM & TD
The kitchen has two handmade solid oak tables and a children's play area built up into the inglenook
Blencowe Hall has solid oak floors throughout.  This view is from the Snug to the Billiards Room
A full size billiards table and equipment is provided for guest use
The Billiards Room looking towards the four foot thick masonry walls leading to the North Tower
The Billiards Room on the ground floor of Blencowe Hall with an antique table
The Billiards Room with full size snooker table and cast iron fire, equipment provided for guests
The first floor Solar Recepton room occupies the entire North Tower
The Solar reception room was the original retiring room for the ladies of Blencowe Hall
A traditional Cumberland oak sword cabinet in the North Tower Solar room on the first floor
The Solar Room at Blencowe Hall decorated for the holidays. Trees provided for guests from our farm
The first floor Solar Room has two cast iron fires and is one of 4 rooms licenced for civil weddings
The Solar Room has two massive stone fireplaces inset with two cast iron fires, one gas and one wood
The massive South Tower Master bedroom ensuite with a private Dressing Room, balcony and bathroom
The window in the South Tower Master Bedroom dressing room overlooking the orchard field
The South Tower Master Beroom with the juliette balcony doors closed.
Another view of the South Tower Master Bedroom suite which occupies the Tower's entire top floor
The South Tower Master Bedroom with the juliette balcony doors open looking to open fields and hills
Cromwell's Folly ensuite double bedroom occupies the entire first floor of the South Tower
Cromwell's Folly bedroom highlights the history of the Cromwellian forces slighting Blencowe Hall
Cromwell's Folly and the South Tower Master Bedroom both have private juliet balconies
Every window in Grade I listed Blencowe Hall has been preserved and protected in the shape found
The juliette balconies of the South Tower show the original masonry of the tower preserved as found
A quiet place for a read and relax in the bedrooms of Blencowe Hall
A king size bed in the West Range Cumberland Room which is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The silk lined curtains of the four poster bed in the ensuite Cumberland Room
The West Range Master Bedroom with an antique six foot super king bed
The West Range Master Bedroom has a glass divided raised bathing area & ensuite
A view of the glass divided raised ensuite bathroom and ensuite in the West Range Master Bedroom
The Greystoke Room in the West Range with antique 3 foot beds is ensuite with a cast iron bath
The North Tower Master Bedroom with an antique five foot four poster bed an ensuite bath & shower
The Lady Jane Grey Room at the top of the North Tower, ensuite with beds that can be singles or 6 ft
The ground floor ensuite Adam de Blencowe Room with beds that can be arranged as 6 foot or two twins
The ground foor Garden Bedroom with a double bed and private access to the North Tower walled garden
The walk in ensuite wet room of the ground floor Garden Room with a shower and glass screen
The Petteril Room (6ft) overlooks the formal Central Range gardens and has a massive stone fireplace
The Nortolk Room with beds that can be arranged as a king size bed or two single beds
Blencowe Hall in the early morning
A side view of Blencowe Hall showing the arched entrance to the cobbled central courtyard
The view out from the West range arched entrance to the Lake District Hills in the distance
Blencowe Hall is set within is own sandstone walled gardens and grounds
A view over nearby Greystoke Castle, about a mile up the road from Blencowe.  Grounds open for walks
Christine and Charlie on the first floor balcony of the South Tower, celebrating completion!!
The entire restoration team celebrating at the 'Wrap Party'
One of the carved stone window mullions at Grade I listed Blencowe Hall
Blencowe Hall in the wintertime
A view towards the South Tower rent said to be associated with Cromwellian cannon fire
A view of the weeping pear tree set into the sandstone terrace gardens
Blencowe Hall lit at night.  The coloured lights can be lit or not depending on guest preference
Blencowe Hall gardens in the springtime, part of the orchards in bloom
An aerial view of Grade I listed Blencowe Hall and the Grade II listed cottages in its grounds
An aerial view of Blecowe Hall and its surrounding gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
12 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
erichmo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most memorable wedding venue!”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were lucky enough to have Blencowe Hall recommended for our wedding 5th May. It was the perfect venue for our wedding with 15 guests. Plenty room for all of us and my niece (aged 11) said the only thing that could make the wedding any better was to have had a unicorn!! Unfortunately they were on strike that day!!
We had the most amazing celebration over our 3 night stay. We had a party the night before and Jilly did THE MOST AMAZING food for the wedding day. It was excellent standard with such lovely girls to chat to! The place had bags of character, quirky rooms. All to an amazing standard of comfort.
The views are amazing, the gardens are perfect and the well equipped kitchen for cooking. Without the staff there at all times its like owning your own hotel! We were all genuinely sad to leave and will remember it for a lifetime.
Jilly and Christine were very quick to respond to our queries and made the booking so so easy. A pleasure to do business with! The team on the wedding day made sure all our needs were met and all the guests were made to feel welcome. So sorry it has taken so long for our review.
Really can't wait for another excuse to book!! All the guests absolutely loved staying here!!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this fabulous review on Trip Advisor. We are all so pleased that your wedding went well and you enjoyed your stay at Blencowe Hall. I will pass on your much appreciated comments to all of our team. We would love to be able to welcome you back as our guests in the future either at Blencowe Hall or any of our other properties. Our only regret is that the unicorn couldn't attend !! Kind regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding weekend”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful setting for the happiest weekend of our life, only down side was that it had to come to an end! I'd like to say thank you to the owners for hosting our wedding and all of our happy guests"

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your wedding and we were very happy that you chose to spend the 'happiest weekend of your life' with us. We would like to pass on our huge congratulations to the happy couple. We would love to be able to welcome you or any of your guests back again to Blencowe Hall or at any of our other cottages at sometime in the future. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luciefarr...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing place to stay would recommend to everyone”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great location for a large family gathering, An absolutely beautiful place to stay, (lovely sheets and very comfortable beds too). Really friendly and welcoming, would recommend it to anyone. We got outside caterers in for a big birthday meal and we used Lynn Hilditch who supplied exactly what wanted.
Absolutely 5 star will return soon :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful building historic but comfortable for modern living
Liked least: it rained one day - haha
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Hi thanks very much indeed for taking the time to leave a review following your family celebration weekend at Blencowe Hall and for the kind comments regarding the accommodation and Lynn's catering. We will share your message with her and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all for another visit sometime soon:) With our best regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review on tripadvisor, it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased you had yet another great weekend. We really enjoying having you as guests and look forward to hearing from you again. I will pass this review on to the rest of our team. Kind regards, Christine, Charlie and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Hi, Congratulations and thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are all so pleased that you your wedding dreams came true. We really appreciate your comments on the restoration of Blencowe Hall and glad it was the back drop for your celebrations. I have passed on your praises to Jilly and her team. Once again, congratulations and thank you. Best regards Charlie, Christine and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: One mattress (in the Garden room) was so hard it caused my dad a sleepless night. We temporarily swapped it with another and he slept fine after that.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your sister's 50th birthday celebrations at Blencowe Hall. It is in a stunning location and we really appreciate your comments on the renovation. If we can be of any help in the future then please get back in touch as we would love to welcome you all back as our guests. Best regards Christine, Charlie and Jilly
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving and welcoming all our guests
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 May 2015
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are so pleased that you and your guests had an amazing time celebrating your 50th birthday and your Silver Wedding Anniversary. We really do appreciate your comments about the restoration of Blencowe Hall and it is wonderful that the building is now full of life. We look forward to welcoming you all back again sometime in the future. Kind regards Charlie, Christine and Jilly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing