We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Thorneyfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thorneyfield
Ranked #51 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2017

We stayed here for a week in the company of our wonderful hosts Andrew and Carole.
The rooms were immaculately clean and very cosy and the breakfasts were plentiful and delicious,
Nothing was too much trouble, and we were given good advice on places to visit.
We would highly recommend this lovely little B&B. We loved it so much we have booked to visit again in May

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 718Mrssadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Have just stayed for three nights - can't really fault the place! It's a great central location, the hosts are so friendly and accommodating, the breakfasts each day were lovely and the whole place was spotless. I'd definitely stay here again if I visit Ambleside again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

An absolute treat staying here, just spent a couple of days and loved it. Lovely clean rooms, wonderful breakfasts and lovely hosts. This place is ideally locate in the centre and they have a permit you can use for the car parks. We parked in the short stay on King street, you get 4 hours so it's perfect as to round the corner and during the day you'll probably be elsewhere anyway.

I recommend the cooked breakfast or the porridge personally and my family had the continental which was excellent. Marmalade and Jan from the Hawkshead Relish company and wonderful cheese, salami breads and ham.

We will be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Demig_AIUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Very friendly couple (I presume) running the place who were very friendly and accommodating. Location seems pretty good, room was very nice. Shower was a little weak and ran hot and cold but I can get over that.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezrerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Stayed for one night, would have liked to have been able to stay longer. Great location, couldn't be any more central. Room was small, but had everything we needed. Bathroom very small. Free parking via permit. Friendly hosts. Lovely cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bikeeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Stayed one night with my daughter whilst walking Hadrian's Highway from Ravenglass to Penrith. We were camping along the way so this was our one night off from camping.
It is situated on the main street in the town and is a few minutes walk from the shops, the Roman Fort, Windermere and lots of amazing walks. The room was on the front but quiet. It was a nice comfortable en suite room and was very clean. The bathroom was a little small but was fine with a shower washbasin and toilet.
Full Cumbrian breakfast was very nice with good quality ingredients. We paid £70 for the room and breakfast which was excellent value, particularly when compared to the local Youth Hostel which would have cost the same for the 2 of us to sleep in seperate dorms. I would recommend this guest house and will probably book it again in the future.

Room Tip: We had a twin room which was a double and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M,K,R&R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hosts Carole and Andrew are very friendly and nice. The room was clean and tidy. Though facing the main road, it's not noisy. Delicious breakfast and great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tinteentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
1.2 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,265 reviews
0.3 km away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#23 of 102 in Ambleside
314 reviews
0.2 km away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#45 of 102 in Ambleside
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 km away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
504 reviews
6.9 km away
Sun Inn Hotel
Sun Inn Hotel
#11 of 23 in Hawkshead
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorneyfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorneyfield

Address: Compston Road, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $122 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thorneyfield 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorneyfield is a charming 4 star Victorian property set in the heart of Ambleside and the beautiful English Lake District and close to all of its many facilities. Thorneyfield sets a very high standard for its rooms, breakfasts and service. We also offer our guests free parking.Our aim is to give you a happy stay and our guests have said we "offer a warm comfortable welcoming stay... generous delicious breakfasts and an excellent experience." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thorneyfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing