We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped lakeside cottage perfect for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jimijangl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well equipped lakeside cottage perfect for families”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

On arriving at Pudding Cottage you can't help but notice two things - how well appointed it is and how clean and presentable it is. From the abundance of children's equipment (neatly hidden away!) to the quality of the bed linen, there is a real sense that the owners want to provide home from home. A well equipped kitchen and huge living room gives six people enough space and the bedrooms are neat and comfortable. On top of this, dealing with Jacky has been a pleasure with quick responses and helpful advice. And it is smack-bang in the middle of where things are happening; the lake is over the road, Windemere and Bowness are a 5 min drive south and Ambleside and the gateway to the fells 5 mins north. We even managed a babysitter on Jacky's recommendation and sneaked off on a couple of occasions to eat at the Drunken Duck (high quality restopub) and The Brown Horse Inn (solid gastropub with an amazing gin and cheese selection!). An excellent place from which to explore the beautiful lakes. We'll be back again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review Caroline. We really do try to make it home from home and am really pleased you managed to get out and about. Hope we will see you again at Pudding!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaKerr
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

After much research and chatting to friends, we chose Pudding Cottage with all its accolades and 5 star reviews. The bar was set high. We were not disappointed. It's rare you arrive at a destination with a welcoming tray of tea, fudge and biscuits. The cottage was immaculately clean and everything you needed and more was provided. My children didn't get through all the toy boxes. They loved their bedrooms with all their teddybear friends. The cottage is so spacious and we had a lovely, shared garden out back to kick a ball and play badminton.

The setting is idyllic and walking distance to an amazing park and adventure centre. If you are considering a trip to the Lake District, look no further than Pudding Cottage. You have to book well in advance as it's in demand and now we can see why.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely and cosy and 5 star quality
Liked least: Leaving Pudding Cottage
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous Family Holiday! ”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We've stayed in lots of lovely cottages in the Lakes but this was the first time as a family of 3 with an inquisitive toddler in tow and this cottage could not have suited our needs more. The owners have really thought of everything you could need with a family including (but no where near an exhaustive list of provisions!) toys, bed guards and booster seats. Add to that the beautiful decor, wonderful setting, amazing views and a home-from-home feel and we genuinely couldn't have picked better. Definitely our new Lakes home! Can't wait to rebook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation- with a good central location”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The accommodation was of a very high standard with facilities for both older and younger children . As part of the booking you also have free use of a nearby leisure club. We visited this on the Saturday and it was enjoyed by all ,especially the outside hot tub !
The cottage was really easy to find with excellent directions ( we arrived in the dark and found it very easily) Likewise the key system was great as within 2 minutes of arrival we were inside the cottage which was lovely and warm.
The cottage itself is near many walking routes and we journeyed into Elterwater a few times and visited a few of the pubs for evening meals.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this cottage and am planning to book it again in the near future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the location and facilities kept the 4 teenagers fully occupied
Liked least: Nothing- everything was fab
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky_Col...
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fantastic stay in a cosy Lake District cottage”
Reviewed November 19, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Pudding cottage is so well equipped. The kids were so excited by the toy box and my daughter loved her bedroom. We were able to relax because the children were happy!

The cottage is very well located and even in the pouring rain we managed to have a lovely week. It helped so much to be able to use the pool at a local hotel (for free!) and we found a good soft play centre at Windermere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed October 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a well appointed and well located cottage for a family holiday in the lakes then Pudding Cottage does the job. With excellent facilities, a lovely garden and peaceful surroundings it was perfect for us. It's always a gamble choosing a random cottage for a week, but PC exceeded expectation. The previous reviews are right on the money!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JimW551
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
752 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great cottage!”
Reviewed September 19, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us stayed here the end of August. What a beautiful and well appointed cottage! It is clean and everything the owner said it would be. It is well located between Windemere and Ambleside. Very central to the Lakes! One day we walked from our front door on a beautiful 7 mile hike which took us to the top of Wansfell Pike. We can't say anything but good about Pudding Cottage. We'd stay here again in a heart beat. The only challenge is finding the drive way when you first get here as it is not as easy as we had hoped!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing