We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,900)
Filter reviews
1,900 results
Traveller rating
1,500
322
61
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,500
322
61
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view room grasmere gingerbread jelly beans low wood dog bed lovely hotel turn down service ice bucket gin and tonic luxury room fillet steak sister hotel dvd player underfloor heating lake district breakfast and dinner would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,900 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2018

First time staying at the Waterhead, although we have visited the lakes many times , and feel compelled to review . This hotel is fabulous and without fault. The quality of the room with so many little extras included and services available , added to its location make this hotel really special. A luxurious treat

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Janette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Dear Janette G
Thank you for a great review of your first stay with us here at Waterhead!
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed the hotel but as we booked the mountain view room I’m unable to get quite as animated about it as those with water view rooms. Super friendly and helpful receptionist greeted us which was lovely. We were also delighted to have a super view from our table at breakfast. Excellent breakfast - top notch! Walk into central Ambleside took about 10 minutes and was flat and easy going. Took a little motor boat out directly from in front of the hotel which was fun.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 741sarahb741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Dear Sarah B
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Great to read that this was so enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back to Waterhead very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

First time we have stayed at this hotel, and not the last. Food and service where excellent. Lakeside view at room, and very comfortable bed.Well located for Ambleside and very near a ferry stop. No reservations in recommending this hotel.

Room tip: best views
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Dear John C
Thank you for such a positive review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Waterhead very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Booked into the Waterhead hotel for two nights. We were delighted to find out it was available for another three. The setting, service and style of this hotel is superb. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear Terry C
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review following your recent stay.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Waterhead very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

This is the sixth or seventh time we have stayed at the Waterhead Hotel the second time this year. We went for the August bank holiday weekend as it was also our anniversary. Its definitely worth upgrading to have a room that overlooks the lake as its one of the finest views to be seen. All the staff at the Waterhead Hotel go out of their way to help in any way they can. The rooms the food and the location are first class. The hotel is spotless. We have no complaints with anything at the Waterhead Hotel and we look forward to our next visit.

Room tip: Book a lake view room
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at Waterhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

Dear Ian C
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay at Waterhead and congratulations again from all the team on your anniversary.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards
Matt Stanaway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews