We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just got back from a fantastic four days at the salutation hotel. Can't find fault with anything. The Hotel is clean and tidy and the staff are friendly The breakfast was excellent so much choice we will definately be back.

Room Tip: rooms on the front can be noisy choose the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,322 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

A lovely hotel but for what price they charge is way over the top for how big the rooms are. We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room but have to say it was rather small and not what we had expected. Having had a Holiday Voucher through Cooperative Travel we decided on a long weekend in Ambleside. The voucher was for £150 so we paid out another £90 for 2 nights so working out £120 a night with Breakfast we thought would be getting something rather better than we opened the door (102)! I have paid less when staying in a Hilton. That would be my only issue with the hotel as the rooms were kept very clean and we had a view from front of the hotel. Didnt use the bar or restaurant as we stick to pubs or restaurants in town. There was plenty of hot or cold food available for breakfast and was very nice. Ambleside is a quiet town but would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete3lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding you recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt that the room you had was not up to your expectations.We are an old coaching inn and unlike a Hilton are rooms do vary in size, although not in quality all our rooms are decorated to the same standard , and your room had the benefit of a balcony overlooking the village. I am pleased you found everything else in the hotel to your liking and hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Fantastic location in Ambleside. Hotel was clean and tidy, the breakfast was great too and filled us up for the day. Pool area was very impressive and you could swim lengths, then relax in one of the various steam room, jacuzzi etc. Lovely lounge area for a quiet coffee, we certainly hope to return

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, great comments abpout our pool, breakfast and facilities it makes it all worth while thanks very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Nearly everything about this hotel was excelent. I refer to the breakfast in my title because it is probably the best hotel breafast I have ever had. There is a choice of just about everything one could think of from around Europe & the quality of the food was superb. The full English has everything too & is perfectly cooked, presented & served. The hotel itself is lovely too. I have been visiting Ambleside for too many years to mention. The Salutation was allowed to get a bit run down a few years ago but what a great job has been done on it now! It looks the part from the outside & inside is just as good. There is a nice little bar & Bistro with loads of seating on the ground floor. Downstairs is the gym, pool & spa, which is also excelent & free for guests. Our room was very well appointed with everything in it that you would want. It was, however, a little on the small side. It only had a double bed, rather than king size but it was exceptionally comfortable. The service we received from all the staff was excelent. Good value for money too. Not much more than the local B & B's yet with so much more to offer. I will definately make this place my first choice when staying in Ambleside again.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel overlooks the town & has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thanks for your review and great comments about our breakfast... we like to make a great impression for the start of the day and our breakfast buffet and cooked selection has become very popular! We do have King size beds there are in our Club rooms either in the main hotel or in the two Lodges.We do hope to welcome you back soon to sample some more of our award winning breakfast, your comments are very much appreciated .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for the first couple of nights of the half term break. Excellent location and superb value for money!! Staff were very approachable and helpful and flexible to our needs. Food was great - breakfast is a must and is so tasty!! The leisure club is good as well and my daughters lover the pool and outside hot tub.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are a bonus as you can sit outside and admire the scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezza1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Great location, super hotel, friendly staff, lovely pool and spa, excellent breakfast, in fact one of the best. Great place, will definitely stay there again. If you get booked early enough there is 20% off the prices, worth every penny. Great for children too.

Room Tip: 114 - first floor with own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, Public Relations Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Glad you had a great break with us, thanks for the comments we are really pleased with the Spa facilities and think its a real bonus for the hotel, don't forget the Early Bird offers book well in advance and get up to 30% discount! Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our third stay at the Salutation for a winter break walking in the Lakes. This time we took our dog and the staff were extremely helpful, welcoming and understood the requirements of guests with dogs.
The staff are a real strength of this hotel and make guests feel special.
There is a lot of lounge space in a series of cosy rooms that give the guests a chance to sit quietly and chat the evening away. We had B&B and the the breakfast kept us going for a day's walking. There are many good walks within a short drive and, although located in the centre of Ambleside, some walks start right behind the hotel car park.

Room Tip: Join the hotel's Westmorland club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaMike520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcookson, General Manager at Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you we like to keep our four legged friends (and their owners !) happy! Great comments about our staff we are always lucky to have such a good team and so pleased you enjoyed our facilities and our award winning breakfast... we will keep you up to date with all our great Westmorland Club offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.2 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,228 reviews
28.0 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
12.5 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
472 reviews
1.3 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 9BX, England (Formerly Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $193 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village centre location with breathtaking fell views from the doorstep. Award winning breakfast, luxury rooms some with private hot tub, great food, fabulous leisure facilities and spa, free onsite parking friendly attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ambleside
Ambleside Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing