We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Lakeland Hideaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blue Hill Cottage

Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage. Showing our car parking space.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
84 reviews
Bluehill Cottage-a view down the lane
Outside the cottage.
Showing our car parking space.
A prosecco moment!
Relaxing in the lounge!
Cosy lounge.
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom.
Twin room.
Newly renovated bathroom with walk-in shower.
Bathroom
Some visitors arrive by horse!
A walk from Bluehill Cottage overlooking Grasmere.
A host of dancing daffodils- by Stockghyll waterfalls a short walk from the cottage.
Lake Windermere at Waterhead. 10 mins walk from cottage.
Waterhead.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy Lakeland Hideaway”
Reviewed December 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We spent two nights in November and had a lovely time exploring Ambleside and the Langdale Pikes. The cottage is highly recommended for its quiet location within easy reach of the town and nearby hills. Very comfortable and warm with all amenities provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy living room with open fire
Liked least: No views, but more than made up for by other features
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
I'm so glad you liked the cottage. We do too. Hope you will be back soon to claim your 5% discount for returning guests."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muzikat
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home from home cottage, perfectly located in a beautiful part of the Lakes.”
Reviewed December 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This is our second visit to Blue Hill Cottage this year. We enjoyed our stay in June so much that we just had to come back. Although we chose possibly the wettest few days of the year (Storm Desmond was just about to break and flood the Lakes), we still had a great time. After a day trudging around in the rain it was great to return to the cottage in the evening and cosy down for the night. This cottage is remarkably well-equipped and comfortable, and so perfectly located for all the amenities Ambleside has to offer, tghat I'm certain we will be back again in the future.

Best places in Ambleside to eat?
1. Doi Intanon (Thai cuisine)
2. Dodd's Restaurant (Italian and English cuisine)
3. Lucy's On A PLate (a bit of everything)
4. The Apple Pie (best apple pie in the Lakes, and superb for breakfast)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So well-equipped and perfectly located.
Liked least: Mattresses were a little lumpy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
I'm so glad you liked the cottage. We do too. Hope you will be back again soon to claim your 5% discount for returning guests."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CHILLED”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage was tucked away just off the main track of Ambleside Town with its own parking space.
The key was convenient to collect in the key safe so we did not have to go and collect a key and take it back like we have had to do with other property's we have stayed at.
Everything we needed for our 5 day break was provided ......washing machine for those muddy clothes if needed....wifi for my 18 year old daughter.....open fire for my 50 year old husband.
The location was just perfect ..not too near and not too far.
We ate at some fantastic places and also went to the cinema. We could start our walking straight from the front door....also public transport was nearby so we didn't have to use the car at all.
On arrival we found no coal (it did say they would supply a bucket of coal to start hols) which was a little disappointing as it meant going out again to the garage after a long journey. Also a soiled nappy found in the bin upstairs in the double bedroom.( Only mentioning this because I would want to know if it was my property Let and good to sort things like this out so it doesn't happen to other holiday makers)
Honestly we enjoyed Blue Hill cottage so much we are just sorting dates out for next year so we can book again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lighting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2015
Hi Tina
i'm really glad you had a great stay and thanks for booking again.
I dont know quite what happened with the 2 negatives. Yes we usually leave a bucket of coal. And Yuk - so sorry about the nappy! When you pay the balance of your Feb booking I'll refund you another 5% on top of the 5% you get for a repeat booking. My apologies again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt R
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed for three nights and totally fell in love with the place. Lovely and cosy but within a stones throw from plenty of great pubs and places to eat. Jenny was incredibly helpful and quick to respond to any queries we had. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Denbighshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Cosy and Quaint!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Easy to get to with the directions provided and an excellent location for proximity into the town meaning you can leave the car. The cottage has ample utensils and kitchen equipment and the beds are extremely comfy. Visited with my two daughters and 16 year old grandson and found there was enough space, downstairs lounge was comfy and cosy.
A visit to Go Ape is a must for any adventurers and there are plenty of walks around Ambleside with amazing views. The town has ample restaurants, pubs and shops and a visit to Mr H's Tea Room is highly recommended. Best scone and tea I've ever tasted and much appreciated after a walk in the rain.
Could not recommend this place enough, clean, comfortable and quaint. A perfect place to discover and explore the lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy Beds and Perfect Location
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicole r
1 review
“Great escape!”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a lovely break to this cottage it was a perfect size for my partner and me! It has everything you need and has quaint features such as the wooden beams and open fire. It's located a 2 minute walk from the centre of town and is a great location! Will definitely be back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness of accommodation and location of cottage.
Liked least: Having to leave after our week was finished.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing