We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our golden wedding celebration”
Review of Riverside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside B&B
Ranked #3 of 102 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have just returned from a 5 night stay with Brenda & Dave and we can only say it was the best experience of a stay in England we have ever had. The accomodation is the very best - the cleanliness and comfortable room - together with wonderful food at breakfast cannot be surpassed. Congratulations to a perfect couple - no wonder you are at the 'top of your tree'

Rob & Audrey Tidd Rochford Essex

Room Tip: Room 2 -four poster - altho we stayed in room 6 which was also excellent - but smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

Wow, I really don't know where to start!! This is simply the best B&B we have ever stayed in, it even beats hotels we have stayed in before, and we have stayed in some very good ones.

The location is stunning, overlooking river rothay, set in a large, very well tended garden with views of the fells behind it. It is situated on a quiet lane about an easy 10-15mins stroll from the centre of Ambleside very tranquil indeed, yet close to all amenities. The guest lounge is very cosy and welcoming with books, magazines, and, dvds in abundance. There are also guest comments regarding local restaurants which come in very handy when you are unsure where to eat. At night time the lounge is lit with low level lighting, and, candles with logs burning in the fireplace, the settees are very comfortable indeed making this a lovely place to sit and relax especially at evening with a bottle of reasonably priced wine (they are also licensed).

We stayed in room no 1 which had its own small sitting area, bathroom with bath and a very good shower indeed, lots and lots of hot water, and, pure lakes toiletries - hand wash, body lotion, shower gel, and, shampoo (each one a good size 250ml bottle), as well as fluffy towels. The wardrobes contained more than enough hangars (we stayed for 4 nights), for once we didn't need to double up! The bed was very comfortable indeedalso , a range of tea, coffees, hot chocolate, and, biscuits were provided, a tv was in the room, and, dvd players also available we had a wonderful view of the garden.

The breakfast room is lovely and sunny with a delightful view of the river, and front of the garden watching the other guests, birds, ducks, squirrels whilst having breakfast. Speaking of breakfasts absolutely delicious, the best we have ever tasted and presented very well indeed. Not only your usual choices of full english, vegetarian breakfasts, cereals etc, but freshly pressed orange juice, jummy fruit muesli pots (I will really miss those), and, Brendas homemade breads - every day a different one (date and walnut our favourite) with handmade jams and marmalades.

However, I have saved the best thing about Riverside till last, the hosts. Dave and Brenda are an absolute joy, nothing at all was to much trouble for them, anything we needed they supplied for us including an early breakfast. They are so informative about the area, walks, directions, booking taxis for us, and obtaining the type of wine we liked as they had just run out of it, everything done with a smile. We may have arrived as guests, but felt as though we were leaving as friends, with Dave and Brenda coming out to bid us farewell. They work very hard ensuring their guests comfort it is no wonder they have many returning year after year.

Thank you Dave and Brenda for a wonderful stay, you thoroughly deserve all the excellent reviews you have, see you soon!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amberpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Riverside is simply the finest B&B we have ever had the fortune to visit. David and Brenda always make you feel welcome, the house is stunning, as are the incredible breakfasts. The location is ideal, being just outside of Ambleside on a quiet road, but still within easy walking distance of the local facilities. Most of the guests are repeat customers which tells you all you need to know.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MannersCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The reviews on TripAdvisor speak for themselves and my stay at Riverside was absolutely wonderful.

Riverside is an oasis of calm where there is such attention detail. Consideration has been given to enhance every aspect of your stay. Dave and Brenda are such wonderful hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. Their achievements speak for themselves but each and every accolade is richly derseved.

Breakfast was absolutely divine - how I missed the smoked salmon and scrambled egg the morning after I left!

If you are planning to stay in the Lakes, there is nowhere better than Riverside.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank winstanleyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a great B&B in a lovely location a short walk from town. Dave and Brenda were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The Breakfast was the best we have had in the UK. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigPhil1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

A lovely quiet cosy B&B in beaufitful riverside setting within easy walking distance of the Ambleside town centre. Brenda & Dave were the perfect hosts making us feel very welcome and helpful with their local knowledge of walks and good places for evenings out. We loved the breakfasts with all the local produce and especially the homemade bread. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was our first time staying in a B&B in Ambleside, we normally go self catered. Brenda and Dave made us feel thoroughly welcome on our arrival and explained everything the hotel had to offer. We loved the huge pile of maps and and guides for walks in the area and folder full of menus and retaurant recommendations of previous guests - really useful idea!

The breakfast was great and made up of locally sourced produce. The bedroom was immaculate and tastefully decorated. Great location, being just a short walk in to Ambleside.

Brenda and Dave were genuinely interested in getting to know a little about us and about how our days were.

We definitely recommend it and hope to go back in future!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete_and_claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.8 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
1 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
0.6 km away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#5 of 102 in Ambleside
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
The Waterwheel Guesthouse
#2 of 102 in Ambleside
320 reviews
0.6 km away
Amboseli Lodge
Amboseli Lodge
#1 of 102 in Ambleside
378 reviews
0.7 km away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside B&B

Address: Under Loughrigg, Ambleside LA22 9LJ, England (Formerly Riverside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $180 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1866, Riverside provides award-winning B&B set in a beautiful rural riverside location, but within a 10 minutes scenic walk of the centre of Ambleside. Riverside provides an ideal location to explore many differentaspects of the National Park and we are only 15mins walk from Waterhead where you can catch the Lake Windermere steamers. Riverside has been awarded both an VisitBritain Gold Award and an AA "Highly Commended" certificate,which recognizes both "exceptional quality"and "the very best ten percent of establishments in their category, in the UK" and in addition, Riverside has been recommended by the Guardian and other newspapers and is featured inprestigious publications such as the Michelin Travel Guide and is "author's choice" in the "Rough Guide to the Lakes". Wherever possible, Riverside sources local ingredients and in addition offers natural, organic, bathroom products, made in Ambleside. We have DVD players and a library of DVDs and Riverside is fully WiFi Internet enabled. Our prices are per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing