We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
474
152
52
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
152
52
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee and petit fours loughrigg suite tasting menu drawing room amuse bouche superior room new owners overlooking the garden lake district public rooms lamb lovely hotel breakfast and dinner walk in shower room was large home made weekend break
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 705 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

There are many places closer to the assorted lakes and other features of the Lake District but the Rothay is not all that far away and has several advantages. One of these is the suburb menu which is modified daily. The staff is very obliging and quite helpful with advice on local attractions.

Room Tip: There is some road-noise so ask for a room away from this if it is a concern.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2018

Myself and my wife could not cut our fish with a steak knife, sent the food back and when our new fish came everyone else in our party was finished and ready to leave. The waitress was kind and apologetic about the situation but there is more to cooking a fish than taking it out the freezer.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank StevenJobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

The location is peaceful and the gardens are delightful. Our room was The Conservatory which is spacious and well fitted with every consideration.
Food is a dream, presentation and taste wonderful. We looked forward to our next meal, food is so exciting.
Staff friendly and professional and interested in our day.
An excellent three days and would recommend to anyone interested in good food and comfort.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

We had been given this gift from our son, daughter in law and grandson for a treat. Well what a delightful treat it was.
We arrived last Thursday to be warmly greeted by our hostess Martina who was a real pleasure to meet. We were given the choice to eat outside on one of the tables that were strategically placed under the trees so you could have the sun with a bit of a breeze encircling us. We partook a special drink to celebrate.. We were then were shown the menu and what the choice of the different teas were on offer. This done we were then brought out our stand containing 4 types of different sandwiches, 2 small fruit scones along with 2 plain scones, with clotted cream and jam. Then a lovely selection of cakes. Plus copious amounts of tea. What a perfect afternoon.

Must thank especially Martina And Michael for the care and attention given to us that afternoon, a very good example for hospitality for the hotel . Well Done. 5 star rating for service.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Maisiegran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018

Great Night stopover with our Dog. Absolutely Delicious Breakfast & Restaurant Staff are very attentive.

The staff pampered our dog.

The Only Negative was our room (14) had a terrible leak in the shower cubicle & i was not aware the floor had filled with water. I exited the cubicle & then slipped on the floor. Made the manager Peter aware of this. I would of expected a small financial gesture of our bill, however, none was offered. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

Room Tip: Avoid room 14. This Room however is Dog Friendly.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MaximilianVanEyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews