We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great views

Brilliant walk up to Jenkins crag, brilliant views, pleasant walk up hill. Take water with you ,you... read more

Reviewed July 26, 2018
bigbum0204
,
bigbum0204
Nice views of Lake Windermere

Jenkin Crag is on a lovely walk between Ambleside and Troutbeck and is highly recommended. The... read more

Reviewed July 20, 2018
robinhenshaw
,
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Read all 175 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ambleside
from US$40.60
More Info
from US$86.61
More Info
from US$52.78
More Info
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
96
70
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
70
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wansfell pike lovely walk feeling energetic steep walk fantastic views circular route up hill lake district trout viewpoint jennings windermere woods track bridle trees underfoot
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 175 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2015

Living a relatively short distance away from Jenkin Crag we are able to walk up on a somewhat regular basis. It's a bit of a steep climb from the Ambleside direction but so well worth it for the stunning view over Windermere.

Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2015

Passing by the crag, on our walk back to Ambleside, we stopped for the view - very nice and worth the stop, but not one of the greatest in the Lake District.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Canar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2015

I found this walk only as I wanted something to fill time while I was working without taking too long.

Took the long way up as I went down the wrong path a few times but it was a great view from the top and I didn't see anyone in the woods as the weather wasn't great.

Not too hard but take care as it can be steep and the path was rocky and slippy.

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2015

Please read my comments in relation to the gallery which I initially confused with the Gallery which we did not visit

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank DCM1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2015

We wanted to go have a look based on recommendation from the National Trust and this spot does not disappoint. It is absolutely stunning. Gorgeous view of the lake and the valley down below.
you can hike there or drive (car park free for National trust member). there are also loads of hiking trails.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Melkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews