We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pub With Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skelwith Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice Pub With Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Me and my wife decided to give this place a try for our evening meal after calling in earlier on in the day after a walk. We didn't have lunch earlier on but decided to have tea for two, this cost just £1.90 and when it arrived it consisted of a large pot of tea with another pot of hot water and four large shortcake biscuits (really good value for money). We decided to look at the evening menu and noticed that the meals were reasonable priced for the Lake District as well as seeing and smelling the lunch menu that was being served to other people in the bar.
We arrived at 7pm and ordered one starter of homemade chicken liver pate (which was the best I’ve tasted in ages) and two Steak and Ale homemade pies. We were not disappointed with the quality or quantity of our main courses and were thoroughly stuffed at the end of the meal.
The Talbot is a nice place to eat and certainly value for money ( considering other places we have eaten) and the next time we are up in that region of the Lake District we will certainly give it another visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    117
    31
    13
    9
See reviews for
62
171
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great hotel, considering its pet friendly hotel Skelwith it is very clean, with smart decor.
Perfect for us, family of 4 and a large dog.
Eat with family and dog in the great real ale bar.
Only thing I would add is a cleaning area outside ( hose pipe ) to clean boots and dogs down after a good days walking.
We have stayed twice and will be staying again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have just stayed for 2 nights on the current special Winter Warmer break. We could not fault a thing. The hotel is spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. The food was exceptional - hang on to your chef! The hotel uses local produce where possible and we enjoyed a 3 course meal each evening with coffee and mints served in the lounge by a roaring fire. Breakfast was another feast with the hotel's own free range eggs and the delicious Cumberland sausage. There are beautiful walks immediately on the doorstep so we didn't have to use the car at all, just as well as we experienced some quite Wintry weather! We can't recommend the hotel highly enough, the staff were the best and we appreciated all the attention to detail.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our third stay and as usual the place didnt let us down. Perfect location for walking to places like The Drunken Duck Pub, Hawkshead and arounf Elterwater. The rooms are adequate and good for dog owners. The food wasnt as good as normal and there was no steak left on our second night. Bit of a let down along with the price of the lager...... Take your own with you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyJulieElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

First visit... A very comfortable, clean hotel with friendly and attentive staff - especially the young Polish woman serving breakfast, who was delightful. Dinner is tasty and hearty - none of your nouvelle cuisine rubbish here, which usually means tiny portions. Bedroom well-equipped and comfortable - two ten-hour nights' sleep. Cosy real fires scattered around and the residents' bar welcoming.

A real haven after a hard day on the hills and, really, the type of unpretentious hotel that is redolent of earlier, more leisurely times, and the sort of place you don't often come across - especially in the South of England.

A twin room with three-course dinner was £70 per person, which given the quality of accommodation and food represented excellent value for money.

Ideally placed for exploring the Lake District, whether or not you are a walker or climber.

Only slightly sour note was the television loudly tuned to football but, as this was in the public bar, it was easily avoided by using the residents' facilities. Plus the inane background noise of local radio at breakfast when, given that most of the residents seem fairly advanced in years, classical music - or even no noise at all - would have been more welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is our second visit within the last three years, we would have come more in the summer months but we have a caravan in the dales so we have to use that. I would highly recommend this hotel to any one especially dog owners, they do not discriminate against dog owners you will have deluxe rooms made availbale to you, the only place they cant go is the restaurant which is understandable. The staff are very friendly and attentive and the food and wine selection is exceptional and also you get value for money. The setting is breathtaking and the hotel is an old coach house which has not be updated because it would spoil the ambiance.

Room Tip: I would recommend the deluxe rooms they are spacious some have jacuzzi baths and sofas worth that li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Just been back to Skelwith bridge Hotel again. First time since change of management. Everything good as usual, although the staff didn't seem quite as enthusiastic and the food wasn't quite as good as before, although the evening meals were still good to excellent (all excellent previously). If you want lots of space in your bedroom go for a superior room, the standard rooms can be a bit cramped, depending which one you get. Great location for access to walks from Coniston, little langdale and great langdale. Also virtually next door to Chesters - a cafe and gift shop that does superb lunches (we ate there at lunch on all 4 days!)

Room Tip: If you want lots of space upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
3.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Ambleside Salutation Hotel
2.3 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
3.3 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
3.2 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
3.4 km away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelwith Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelwith Bridge Hotel

Property: Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Address: Ambleside LA22 9NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#10 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just a short drive from Ambleside, away from the hustle and bustle is Skelwith Bridge. Informal gardens merging seamlessly with the surrounding countryside, real log fires in the winter months and a traditional welcome, Skelwith bridge Hotel really is "your home away from home" The hotel boasts 28 bedrooms, all en-suite and all retaining the character of the original building. We are pleased to offer single, twin, double and king sized rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner bed and breakfast at fantastically affordable prices all year round. We welcome a whole host of families with children young and old, couples, singles and four legged friends too! The hotel is a fell walkers paradise with many varied easy and more strenuous walks from our doorstep! We even have a drying room available for those wet days ... not that we have too many of those in The Lakes! A host of attractions and other activities are just a short drive or bus ride away including sailing, cycling, mountain biking, fishing, bird watching, golf, shopping, bars and restaurants, the historic houses of Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter and Ruskin, the market towns of Keswick and Kendal, Grasmere and its world famous gingerbread, Take a cruise on the lakes with the steamers, the lakes aquarium at lakeside, traditional steam railway at Haverthwaite, Manicured gardens at Holker hall, and many more attractions too numerous to list! Our reception staff are always happy to suggest local attractions or walks and we have lots of information in our showcase at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Skelwith Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skelwith Bridge Ambleside
Hotel Skelwith Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing