We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langdale Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,467)
Filter reviews
1,467 results
Traveller rating
740
432
181
70
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
432
181
70
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature roomwainwrights pubterrace barwaterside roomtime sharefellside roomselemis toiletriesultimate roomsbuilding workspa treatmentsspa arealake districtswimming poolsteam roommain restaurantleisure facilitieshigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,222 - 1,227 of 1,467 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay and in a superb location.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. There are also lodges on the estate. Also super quality
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlo_ManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Spent the weekend at The Langdale at the end of March, as part of a large party of 14.

Pros -

Good sized rooms
Comfortable beds
Rooms seemed to be completely soundproof - didn't hear a peep from either side
Rooms were well equipped, iPod docks, coffee and tea making facilities as well as a safe - free to use without a deposit, hairdryers, iron etc.
breakfast was fantastic good quality ingredients, however was a bit hit and miss as to whether or not it was going to be hot. one day it was, the other it wasn't.
the spa facilities were excellent, the icy blast was particularly good as were the sauna and steam rooms
The terrace bar was great for lunch and excellent views over the water


Cons -

Towels were stained - with what looked like hair dye
Showers in bedrooms were very weak and not powerful enough
No fridge however the staff were very happy to get us ice buckets and even provided a box of champagne flutes which was very nice
Staff and service could be a bit hit and miss too - Spa staff were really friendly whereas reception and breakfast staff could be improved which was a shame.

Overall, it was a very lovely hotel in a spectacular setting and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingwellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Following ill health, I had specific criteria for a Lake District break. After much manouevering around their confusing web site, the Langdale seemed to fit the bill. 4 nights, 3 days.
My first mistake that I didn't notice the very pale print warning about building works until after I'd paid the non-refundable deposit. We'd stayed at hotels with building work going on before, so weren't too concerned. Didn't realise that it would mean QUARRYING about 30 m from our room, 9.00am to 4.30pm. Put up with it, though afternoon rest was OUT.
No automatic compensatory offers of vouchers to us, although we did notice various people with vouchers, and wondered ......
Also realised when completing the guest questionaire that, in fact, we'd been given a wrong room. Because of misleading web site we were given a room in Fellside, not mentioned on web site, that I could find, and were given a Family Room rather than a Signature Room as requested, and paid for.
I'd spent quite some time ensuring that I chose a room with a bath that I could use - not DISabled, but not Olympic-fit any more.
Reception - 'brisk'.
All other staff were fine, didn't see any management .....
Food - Only 'The wainwrigh't was disappointing, but they did serve good beer, other food wouldn't fault, but 3 days was the limit of my choicefrom all of the menus - so glad to have The Britannia close by.

This place has everything going for it - situation, design, (highly suitable for hobbits), build etc ,and when the quarrying stopped it was very peaceful, and the use of the Spa/ Country Club didn't intrude at all.
What a pity that their Customer Service and Website really let them down, and they dismissed my remarks, as above, to them on my return home.
Because of those things - I would not recommend it.

I booked this hotel as an independent traveller, and didn't realise that TripAdvisor included it, and reviews until after my visit. Wish I'd done just a little more web trawling ........

If you do go in Winter, take a torch in case you want to go to the pub.

Room Tip: just check that you get the room you asked for.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisydaisy3787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Everything superb - location for walks, great choice of hotel restaurants and bars, super pool and spa facilities

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandypandyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

stayed here for one night for a birthday. Beautiful hotel in stunning surroundings. Very helpful and friendly staff on reception. we had a beautiful room in the hotel building witha jakuzzi bath and beautiful bathroom. The room was clean and nicely decorated with everything you could wish for. We ate in hobsons bar and the food was excellent. not large portions but excellent quality from the best ingredients. The drinks were reasonably priced. we had a lovely stay and can't wait to book again. very relaxing enjoyable stay. the building work did not distract us from a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: we liked ours as it was in the hotel other rooms are outside of the hotel and a short walk outside to the spa
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews