We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A bit retro but warm and cheap”

Review of Birch End

Welcome!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome!
Lawn and drive area Adjoining enclosed woodland play area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Welcome!
Lawn and drive area
Adjoining enclosed woodland play area
View towards Fairfield
Lounge
Dining area
Hearth & TV
Double bedroom upstairs
Twin bedroom upstairs
Twin bedroom wash basin & landing
Hall
Sigle bedroom downstairs
Double bedroom downstairs
Sunny patio with furniture & view
Private parking space for 3 cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anniegsta...
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit retro but warm and cheap”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have come here now twice in February. It was warm and cosy. Local Chinese and chippy excellent. It is a bit basic but suited our needs .
Will book again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cheap and cheerful
Liked least: You could have left us one more toilet roll for the weekend!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UpandAbou...
Colnbrook, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had a lovely first visit to Ambleside and was very impressed with this comfortable bungalow. It was very well equiped and clean. The heating was even timed to come on making it very homely and cosy when we got home in the afternoons. It was only a few minutes walk to the main centre of Ambleside. Would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and good location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spacious, well equipped”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely, spacious , well equipped dormer bungalow with fantastic views especially from the large lounge window,
We stayed with our two children so the upstairs was ideal for us sharing the twin and double, The downstairs bathroom and bedrooms were ideal for my elderly parents (with limited mobility) and sister. There are sinks in all of the bedrooms. The house is large enough to be able to spend time together in the large open plan lounge diner kitchen area or take some quiet time away from the others in either the bedrooms or the beautiful garden. There is also a large woodland area which is part of the property which we did not use this time but in the past has been a ideal place for our Easter egg hunt!
Location is in the centre of Ambleside but just off the main road so there was only a slight traffic noise compared to some properties in Ambleside.
We went on lovely walks and visited , Brockhole. Grisedale Forest, Keswick. Bowness and walked to Rydal (very flat walk with lovely pub at end! The children enjoyed the climbing wall in Ambleside which was just around the corner. Climbing is supervised by instructors and parents can enjoy a snack in the café while you watch, Also enjoyed the crazy golf (again just around the corner) and the local park was only a few minutes walk for a game of football at the end of the day.
The only negative comment I received from my 11 and 13 year old before we went was "WHAT NO WIFI!" but once they were there they didn't even mention it, there was so much to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenNevis6...
Warks
1 review
“Great location...fabulous views”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend. The location is ideal, right in the centre of Ambleside but not overlooked. Great views of the area from the large windows, all appliances you would need and nice large bedrooms. Only negatives were the shower - a trickle of hot water is not what you need after a long days hiking, and the upstairs toilet which is nothing more than a box room.
Would definitely recommend Birch End as a great central place to stay if you plan to visit Lakeland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazelgabr...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Birch end cottageis a lovely place to stay in for al long or short breaks. Thebirch end cttage has 4 decent bed rooms and one of them has spectacular view of mountains which i really appeciate. Theres also large living room with a large window where ypu can see a very nice viewof the mountains.thecottage is in a very good condition well equipped and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay in this cottage and i would really recommend it for family or group of friends. Ther is also big garden where you can have bbq . The location is also considerable as it is near to the centre where u can see lots of shops restaurants and pubs, bus station is also closed to the cottage, the lake is within 5 minutes walk. I cannot think of any negative thing to say about the cottage because its lovely and very accomodating. You will surely enjoy your stay and im looking forward to have my next holiday with my family in ambleside and will surely stay in the same place at the birch end cottage.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lona43
lona43
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal holiday home”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I would highly recommend anyone who wants a quiet comfortable cottage to relax in. Tucked away in a private cul-de-sac this bungalow has everything you could wish for in a holiday rental.
Downstairs has a large lounge with two comfortable sofas, an open plan kitchen diner with all the appliances you might need. Dishwasher, washing machine, fridge freezer, microwave etc.
There is one double bedroom with washbasin and one single bedroom also with washbasin. The bathroom is large and very well decorated.

Upstairs comprises of a further two double bedrooms one with twin beds. We didn't use upstairs at all as there was only the pair of us. Central heating is included in price and lots of hot water available.

I cannot praise this cottage enough with it's lovely gardens and open outlook to a lovely view. The town centre is five minutes walk away where one can find numerous eating places.

I would certainly return to Birch End and hope this review has encouraged others to follow my lead.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The relaxed feeling it gave me and not having to go outside to smoke
Liked least: Broadband connection would have been nice
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin F
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lots of room and great location”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Myself and 5 other friends had a wet golf weekend from the 21st March for two nights and used Birch End as a base.

The property was a decent size with plenty of sleeping areas and had a suitable living space after beers in the evening time and for Match of the Day watching. The property is by no means luxurious but for the price we paid and the fact the group was more concerned about location (5 mins walk to nearest bar and food. Highly recommend the Royal Oak), this property was excellent, I would rate it 5 on that alone, because it had all the esstentials that are needed.

My only slight issue was the shower which was very weak, but to me and for the time we stayed, that is a very small issue compared to the price and location of the property.

I would certainly use this again if I planned a golf weekend in sunnier months.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing