We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
473
129
31
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
473
129
31
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room filtered water spa bath porridge lake district smoked haddock mr and mrs car park breakfast menu breakfast was excellent breakfast staff high standard family room lovely bathroom self catering a lovely stay single room
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 644 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2018

It was a last minute booking as I was going to be camping, I never had chance to look at the reviews, so the utter joy I had when I seen my single room small but perfect bathroom was excellent. The breakfast in the morning was exquisite.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front will have amazing views
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivetodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for writing your review. It really is appreciated. It is quite rare, I think, for a single room to have such a good sized bathroom with a bath as well as shower, which is perfect after a good long walk. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope we'll see you again sometime, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Kind regards. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Wow this place is superb.
The rooms are stunning.
The staff our lovely friendly and welcoming.
Nothing is to much to ask.
The breakfast was awesome a perfect start to our day.
Highly recommend.
No stress no hassle a perfect place to chill especially on your honeymoon.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank BeerBedSleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your very complimentary review.
We are just thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay for your honeymoon.
And the weather was certainly in your favour so that you could make the most of sitting in the sun in the afternoons.
Trust you had a safe and trouble-free journey home and hope you might make it back sometime.
All the very best to you both and kind regards. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We have visited the Fisherbeck many times over the last 20 odd years and never been disappointed. The owners Mr and Mrs lane will do everything they can to help my disabled wife. The Hotel is spotless, the owners and staff are so polite, what more can I say. Breakfast are out of this world, beds and furnishings extremely comfortable. We will most certainly be coming again, we are almost family or made to feel that way.

Room Tip: For ease of access in my own circumstances the garden rooms.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank timhilton224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Hello Hiltons. It is indeed rather like having family to stay when you visit us here at The Fisherbeck and we are just so pleased that you have enjoyed yet another visit. Congratulations to the Birthday Girl, trust you have celebrated in style today. And thank you so much for your very kind words. With our very best wishes to you both. Gillian & Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

After a dreaded stay at Coniston Hall Campsite we couldn’t hack staying the 3 nights originally booked therefore decided on the Saturday night we wanted to stay at a local hotel. All the big hotels had weddings on and one we seen online was charging £300 for a nights stay then we came across The Fisherbeck. I rang them and asked if they had availability for that night and they said they did, so we drove to the hotel and were greeted with two super friendly members of staff. We paid £105 which included breakfast which is an amazing rate for this hotel. We happily would have paid £130-150 for our stay.

Breakfast was lovely and staff couldn’t be more accommodating.

Location is really good 10 minute walk into Ambleside, 10 minute walk to lake which some nice pubs around the hotel.

I’ve defiantly return back here, rooms were cosy and had everything needed. Loved this hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Demi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Hello Demi,
Thank you so much for writing your very kind and complimentary review. I knew on arrival that you were rather in need of some comfort after your rather uncomfortable camping adventure. So we are just thrilled that we were able to make your trip to the lake district end on a high note. We do hope you will think of us again if you come back this way, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. All the very best & kind regards. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Chose to stay here after reading the reviews. The positive reviews are justified and would definitely recommend this hotel. Very clean, quality products used throughout, friendly staff. Comfortable bed but the best feature for us was the amazing spa bath! Only thing I would say is we asked if we could sit in the window to eat our breakfast and was told we couldn’t. We was then shown to the back of the room with no view. It was a shame as nobody sat there while we had our breakfast. Wouldn’t put me off returning though.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank loumooresx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We do appreciate it. So that we can deliver papers and the correct choice of milk to each guest we work to a table plan and unfortunately only 4 of our 18 tables have views. But if you book again, which we hope you will, please put in a request and we will do our best. Kind regards. Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews