We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
109
88
35
8
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
88
35
8
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white lion the pub innkeepers lodge family room continental breakfast very pleasant stay good size stayed for one night central location full english lovely room lake district yogurt pubs lakes julie
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 281 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

Lovely stay and friendly staff, we were on top of the penthouse with a view of the high street☺️lovely.. breakfast was lovely.. we had our evening meal here too, fast service despite it was busy there..

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ceri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionhotel2014, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

If asked would I stay here again - then Yes I probably would but this lodge is not a hotel in its own right, but rooms above the White Horse Pub in Ambleside.

My gripes are in no way anything the hotel can do much about.......
The rooms need a saniflow system to provide a bathroom - but it’s noisy.
Bin collections and shop deliveries start early and the hotel is in the middle of town.
Other guests will be noisy and family arguments at 7.30am outside our room make for an unwelcome alarm clock.

That aside the rooms are nicely put together. Not as much choice of inroom refreshments and toiletries as I have had in other hotels of a similar cost but the bed was very cumfy!
The pub below has a lovely atmosphere with good food and a continental breakfast is included in the room price with the usual selection of cereals and bread products. A full English is offered at additional cost.
Car parking is available at the side of the property. The car park is situated before the hotel on the one-way system so if you miss it, you’ll need to whizz around the block once more.
Night access to the hotel for those who like to party available via a fob and the hotel will even organise a takeaway breakfast bag if you need to check out early.
All staff seemed very friendly and like I said, it did have downsides but I would stay there again. Photos of room 2.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Beckywall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitelionhotel2014, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Hi Beckywall_uk, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

Warm welcome awaits at Innkeepers. Centrally located & easy to find, with free parking. We had a family room on top floor. Room ample size & price for one night. Includes continental breakfast, if you can find crockery & not replenished quickly. Don’t be afraid to ask for top ups.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank NellyJuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

We got what we expected, pleasant enough for a short stay. Manager was very friendly, hospitable & she clearly likes to make people welcome which was appreciated. Didn’t eat here as we wanted to explore, great location for doing so. Cooked breakfast was really good, cooked well & fresh ingredients, definitely recommend ordering it.

Room was tidy, bit rough around the edges but the bedding was clean & the shower/sink/toilet were clean.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank EPHar156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

B&B right in the centre of Ambleside.
Ideal for the Waterfall Walk & pubs/restaurants which were all within walking distance. Great little town lovely shops to browse and with Bowness and Windermere close by its a really nice place to stay

Stayed: May 2018
Thank 298jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews