We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Mounting Steps

The original horses' mounting steps next to the front door.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The original horses' mounting steps next to the front door.
Sleep well in the four poster bed. Dressing table, & built-in wardrobes provide ample storage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The original horses' mounting steps next to the front door.
Sleep well in the four poster bed. Dressing table, & built-in wardrobes provide ample storage
The kitchen is very well equipped with fine views of Wansfell & seasonal views of Lake Windermere.
Relax in the whirlpool bath after a day's walking.
The Mounting Steps is a captivating Grade 2 listed building set in a striking cobbled courtyard
Enjoy the beautiful river garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Willow T
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning holiday cottage”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage is set in an idyllic courtyard a short walk from the centre of Ambleside. It was a home from home with absolutely everything we could have wanted (including extra luxuries like wine and chocolates on arrival!). The decor is nice and the whirlpool bath very welcoming after a day of walking. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone and can't wait to stay again. We stayed in summer and it was perfect weather but I can tell it would also be lovely to stay in winter as the cottage has a little fire and lots of snug blankets! Maggie and Greg, the owners, made everything as smooth as possible even sending me local travel information and answering our emails while we were staying at the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property!
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate. Lots of little home comforts.
Liked least: Cant think of anything to criticise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChrisM27
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We loved our stay at The Mounting Steps near Ambleside. (A short walk into the town with plenty of shops, pubs, cafes etc.)
The cottage is well equipped with everything you need and furnished to a very high standard. The ground floor bedroom has a lovely 4 poster bed & en suite loo & basin. On the first floor is a big lounge with comfortable furniture & tv & music player, the upstairs to the top floor where there is bathroom with a great whirlpool bath. The dining kitchen has a lovely view across to Lake Windermere.
There is plenty of storage for walking boots, coats etc in the hallway & lots of wardrobe space & drawers in the bedroom.
The owners have left a big collection of maps, walking books & guides to the area which were very useful.
If you wanted to catch a bus, the stop is just outside the entrance to the courtyard.
There is also a lovely garden across the road next to the River Brathay, where my husband was lucky to spot a kingfisher.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely interior of the cottage & the location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tay32BHam
1 review
“Excellent stay.”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

One of the best equipped places we've stayed in the lakes. Loved the whirl pool bath and the garden. We usually stay right in the centre of Ambleside, but being just outside Ambleside (just 10 minutes walk to the centre) was actually a great advantage as we got to see Ambleside at it's best as we wandered into town. Maggie was super helpful right from booking to posting back the clothes we left behind!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicci J
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just got back home from staying at the mounting steps. So clean,tidy and peaceful the surrounding areas and cottage itself beautiful. Very helpful owners should be very happy we've had a great stay thank you. Would definitely return/recommend x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
We are really thrilled that you enjoyed The Mounting Steps so much. Thank you for a lovely review. You summed it up beautifully.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position of apartment to Ambleside
Liked least: Leaving apartment to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
Thanks for such a positive review. You paint a fabulous picture of our cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing