We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat! Lounge with flat screen Television
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Perfect place to take off your boots and enjoy something cold at the end of the day!!!
Quirky, dog friendly retreat!
Lounge with flat screen Television
Master bedroom set up with king sized bed
master bedroom set up with twin beds
Master bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Layout
Kitchen with gas hob, dishwasher, full size fridge/freezer, microwave
Second bedroom with original beams, solar powered velux.  Full of character.
second bedroom with views to the fells
Lounge/kitchen
view from second bedroom
Christmas in 2 The Old Coach House
bedroom lounge area with dressing table.
We absolutely love special occasions!!
captures the serenity of the cottage perfectly - heaven!
So peaceful!!!!
View from master bedroom
Ambleside town centre
The Bridge House Ambleside!
One of many traditional bars - The Golden Rule
Zeferelli's cinema and Jazz bar, wine bar
Compston Road Ambleside
Enjoy a refreshing drink at Zeferreli's and gaze at Wansfell!
St Mary's Church Ambleside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bbr90
Cupar
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We arrived on 4th December for a relaxing week away.

I fell in love with this cottage as soon as we arrived, everything we need was there and the place is beautiful!

On 5th December, storm Desmond hit the area, we were so cozy and relaxed inside whilst it was awful outside, we were so comfortable, we really didn't mind that we couldn't do much else!

Margaret was great to deal with and booking was so easy, We will definitely book with Margaret and graham again.

Thank you so much for a lovely stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
Many thanks for reviewing the cottage, it was our pleasure to have you! So glad you loved the cottage as much as we do! Hope to see you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: luxury facilities
Liked least: open plan bedroom - took some getting used to
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for reviewing our cottage. glad you had an amazing New Year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marc B
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than we hoped for”
Reviewed December 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here on a very rainy weekend in Nov, and to be honest when we arrived at the old coach house, we were blown away. The location is perfect, minutes away from the town centre and the local wee restaurant which serve amazing food..
The old coach house it's self, was perfect for me and my partner and everything we could of wished for quaint, stylish and modern and Margaret could not have been more helpful.
It was that good we have already booked again.
Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for reviewing the cottage! It was our pleasure having you and so glad you are returning again so soon. This is our biggest compliment and makes all the hard work worthwhile. Mgt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jll62
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“In your face Storm Desmond!!!”
Reviewed December 14, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Our wedding in the beautiful Lake District was very sadly cancelled due to the devastating floods of Storm Desmond . A hastily planned rerun one week later left us with trying to find somewhere to stay in Ambleside at very short notice.....this wonderful cottage was not only offered to us free of charge- but a bottle of fizz too?!!! Words cannot express the happiness that you gave us - Margaret and Graham - it's people like you that make the world (in particular Cumbria) such a wonderful place.
This cottage is cosy, warm, well equipped in an excellent location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
It was our absolute pleasure to help!! It must have been devastating to have your wedding cancelled on the day but boy have we seen how the communities of Cumbria pull together in times of strife. Congratulations!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nemmylou
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay!!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Margaret was fantastic! My husband and I stayed for our anniversary and she had a balloon and champagne waiting on our arrival! The cottage it situated in an ideal location. Lovely and clean and had everything that we needed! Margaret was available if we had any questions (and when we locked the key in the property on the first day and needed a spare!!!) we will definitely be booking to stay in one of her properties again next year. Couldn't recommend highly enough!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for a fantastic review. It was our pleasure and we would love to have you back again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill W
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic - need I say any more?”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed many times at various cottages around Ambleside, but have to say that this cottage is absolutely outstanding - heads above anywhere else we have stayed. It has been beautifully decorated and kitted out, but it's the little extras which were a fabulous and personal touch.
Everything about our stay was just brilliant - thank you for arranging warm and sunny weather too!!
We're so excited to have found you - can't wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Arriving to a warm and cosy welcoming cottage
Liked least: Leaving ...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for an amazing review and thank you for already booking your next holiday. This is the best compliment we could hope for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!!! 10 out of 10!”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A brilliant place to stay. Close to the town centre and a short walk to the Lakes. The property was a joy to stay in and owners Margaret and Graham could not have been any more helpful. Very accomodating. Looking forward to going back next summer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for a great review. These reviews are invaluable to guests choosing holiday accommodation in the Lakes. It was our pleasure to have you and look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing