We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Allerdale Court Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice beds”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I it was a beautiful comfy room we stayed at the Allerdale for one night with my husband it was our first wedding anniversary Ballons were on our breakfast table in the morning Staff were very helpful ..... would deffinatley recommend to anyone val

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    88
    19
    3
    5
See reviews for
34
131
9
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Plus points
Lovely staff,Nice manageress very Available, Nice building,Great Location,Good Breakfasts,Nice fireside bar.

I loved our stay in Cockermouth


Negatives
Very noisy room (fans from restaurant act like a megaphone) Old decor (not charming old fashioned/just old),No bar snacks or food-restaurant only.Put us in an old twin bed room because didn't get external booking info-not good on 1st wedding Anniversary. Was advertised as Dog friendly but with the noise,and no bar food it wasn't ideal for our Puppy (she never slept) They allow dogs but they aren't catered for although the owner loves them. Plenty of local places do food and cater for dogs.

Will definitely rent a cottage next time -Allerdale would be fab for just an overnight stay but not a romantic break at all xxx

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room and don't book externally
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights for my boyfriend's birthday and a little pre-schristmas trip and it was lovely. cockermouth's christmas lights are very pretty. we took our yorkshire terrier and were greeted with mince pie and mulled wine when we arrived, which we were too tired to have but it was lovely all the same. We rarely eat in the hotels we stay in as we like to try local resturants but the bistro there was lovely, we had some drinks in the lounge until we were ready to eat. we had fleetwood fish pie and stirloin steak (not together) and they were both fab meals. the staff were very friendly. the parking was just opposite and there was always enough space to load and unload and we only paid £5 for parkign and were friday evening to sun afternoon. we stayed in room 2004 which has a four poster bed which was very comfy and was a very nice room. would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in cockermouth. great value too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I went there because I was working for a solar energy project at the auction hall and found for me and my colleagues this very coosy hotel, English as in the movies with nice staff and a good restaurant (Wednesday is steak night!) Rooms are large, with nice fornitures (there like small living rooms) and warm. Wifi is free everywhere in the hotel and fast. They have also have a bar with a large selction of whiskey and liquors. Sticky Toffee Pudding is a must.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed for a night at the Allerdale court for a family wedding. The young lady on the reception was friendly and helpul and took us to our room (207). The room was on the top floor of the hotel and was huge... including sitting room with fireplace (not working and large bathroom. Following the floods the Allerdale court have spent time and money refurbishing the ground floor and have done a wonderful job. This has however meant that some of the upper floor rooms look a little shabby with holes in the carpets and peeling wallpaper. hopefully the wonderful renovations will continue through the rest of the hotel in time.
Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of both hot and cold food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeleeKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I was greeted with a genuine welcome, and then came the fabulous room with 4-poster bed and chesterfield leather chair. You can do nothing but relax in this place. The food on the menu also brought some unexpected surprises, I can heartily recommend the melt-in-the-mouth black pudding layered with hot sliced apple starter (unless you are vegetarian). I only came to Cockermouth on a brief business trip, and would not have thought of it as a place to stay above the range of choices around the Lake District, but this is a gem well worth considering as a base for sightseeing as well as business trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4-poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We usually stay at the Trout when we’re in Cockermouth, but on this visit they were full (on a non-descript Thursday night in October ?). They said they were more corporate these days and often were. So we took our lowly non corporate selves down the Allerdale Court instead, and we were very glad we did.
What a terrific hotel! The service is friendly and personable like a guest house but in a big old town centre hotel. And old it is – our room at the front was like stepping back into Georgian times: terrific raised four poster bed and exposed beams all over the place. Brilliant! This place just oozes character, but is clean and comfortable all the same.
When we arrived the receptionist insisted on bringing the two lattes (proper ones by the way) we ordered to our room so we could get settled, and the breakfast was excellent (great sausage...to be expected round these parts tho’).
We certainly shan’t bother with the Trout again – compared to the Allerdale it is overpriced and bland. Only thing to mention is, there is no car park – but there are plenty within spitting distance and free if you arrive at the right time.
To conclude: great value and highly recommended.... whether you be corporate or not.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puffpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cockermouth hotels
0.6 km away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
641 reviews
0.5 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
161 reviews
5.1 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Broughton Craggs Hotel
Broughton Craggs Hotel
#6 of 9 in Cockermouth
276 reviews
1.0 km away
Hundith Hill Hotel
Hundith Hill Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cockermouth
194 reviews
1.4 km away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Allerdale Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Allerdale Court Hotel

Property: The Allerdale Court Hotel
Address: 18-20 Market Place, Cockermouth CA13 9NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Allerdale Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Allerdale Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Allerdale Court Hotel Cockermouth, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing