We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here recently for a wedding in nearby Lorton. We were given a free room upgrade on arrival to a junior suite. A massive room and very well appointed. They have kept some nice original features during the restoration (fireplaces, cornices, etc) which help maintain character. Staff were courteous and although we only ate breakfast in the hotel, it was all freshly cooked local produce, so no complaints there. Overall, a really nice, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kynasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Courteous staff, clean rooms, open spaces for lounging about, lovely interior, free car parking for patrons, located next door to William Wordsworth's own home, superb choice for breakfast from cereals to served-to-order hot meals. Well worth the price we paid and I would go as far as to say it could rival a five star. Couldn't knock it if I tried and will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsUsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hospitality was brill. All staff were very professional and very welcoming.
Rooms were nice, good value for money.
Breakfast was included and was lush, all local produce.

Good location, our room overlooked the river which was a nice touch. Very close to the shops and nightlife (next door to the landmark Wordsworth House).

We also ate in the terrace bistro which was really good.
Free parking.

Could not fault.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRACKIEMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We like this Hotel and have stayed many times. To err is human and even a slight blip in our booking this time was handled courteously, without fuss and with great empathy. Well done the Trout staff for you exceeded our expectations once again and proved that a recent Regional Customer Service Award is much deserved. If you like good unpretentious service then the Trout is for you. It will never be like home but they do try very hard to get close.

Room Tip: Suite Rooms on the ground floor are great if you are taking a dog as there is plenty of space and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lymers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I booked this trip as a Christmas present for my husband for a get away from it all weekend, we stayed over the hottest weekend in march which was a bonus.
I had booked a package of: 2 nights b&b with full breakfast, dinner and scones & champagne on arrival.
The reception staff and ALL staff were verreviewsming and friendly and just for this I would return. We were upgraded from an executive double bedroom to a Junior suite - lovely and a real treat.
the hotel was full and we had to have dinner on the Saturday night which was no problem for us at all, where you normally are restricted on choice of an inclusive dinner menu, this was not the case and we were able to chose ANYTHING from the menu. lovely food, great staff and overall fab!
we found the brewery tour and toughly enjoyed it, thanks to the great tour guide.
I don't like to recommend hotels but for a great relaxing, clean hotel with lovely staff,I would highly recommended the Trout.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We went to The Trout on Good Friday for dinner,the place was packed..!
We should have booked.
James,the manager said why don't we have a drink in the bar and wait for a table,what a good decision that was.A table became free and we had a lovely meal.
This is by far the best hotel & restaurant in Cockermouth maybe even West Cumbria.
We would definately recommend coming here if your spending some time in the area,either to stay or just dine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scouserjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Used this hotel as a base for the Lake District over Easter weekend when all my usual alternatives were fully booked. Hotel is lovely and the rooms spacious. Hotel food is exquisite, although a tad pricy unless you book on a meal inclusive rate.

Only thing stopping it getting a 5 star for this trip, is its location. Cockermouth isnt the prettiest of towns and is well out of the way for the majority of the Lakes prime spots. If you were seeking a hotel specifically in this area, then its 5 star.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank costyy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
5.6 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
504 reviews
0.5 km away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#5 of 9 in Cockermouth
308 reviews
13.1 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
39.3 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range: $200 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing