We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Trout Hotel
Nearby Hotels
YHA Buttermere(Buttermere)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Manor House Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hundith Hill Hotel(Cockermouth)
US$104
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graysonside(Cockermouth)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Travelodge Cockermouth(Cockermouth)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Six Castlegate(Cockermouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croft House(Cockermouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anns Hill(Bridekirk)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
518
155
48
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
155
48
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstroutderwent restaurantoverlooking the riverterrace barafternoon teamain restaurantlovely hoteljunior suitehigh standardlakes distillerycar parkingpublic areasthe main streetsconesfantastic stayexcellent foodlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 755 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here in February for the 2nd time, great hotel, staff are very friendly, rooms are lovely and spacious. The food in the restaurant is excellent.Great location on the river and in the centre of town, we can't wait to go back....

Room Tip: upgrade to an executive room or ask for river view
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here recently for a wedding in nearby Lorton. We were given a free room upgrade on arrival to a junior suite. A massive room and very well appointed. They have kept some nice original features during the restoration (fireplaces, cornices, etc) which help maintain character. Staff were courteous and although we only ate breakfast in the hotel, it was all freshly cooked local produce, so no complaints there. Overall, a really nice, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kynasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Courteous staff, clean rooms, open spaces for lounging about, lovely interior, free car parking for patrons, located next door to William Wordsworth's own home, superb choice for breakfast from cereals to served-to-order hot meals. Well worth the price we paid and I would go as far as to say it could rival a five star. Couldn't knock it if I tried and will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsUsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hospitality was brill. All staff were very professional and very welcoming.
Rooms were nice, good value for money.
Breakfast was included and was lush, all local produce.

Good location, our room overlooked the river which was a nice touch. Very close to the shops and nightlife (next door to the landmark Wordsworth House).

We also ate in the terrace bistro which was really good.
Free parking.

Could not fault.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRACKIEMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We like this Hotel and have stayed many times. To err is human and even a slight blip in our booking this time was handled courteously, without fuss and with great empathy. Well done the Trout staff for you exceeded our expectations once again and proved that a recent Regional Customer Service Award is much deserved. If you like good unpretentious service then the Trout is for you. It will never be like home but they do try very hard to get close.

Room Tip: Suite Rooms on the ground floor are great if you are taking a dog as there is plenty of space and easy access to the car park.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lymers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews