We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel,view and food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Trout Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trout Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Cockermouth
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely hotel,view and food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I lived in cockermouth until last year and went back to see friends.
i Choose to stay in The trout as i have been in there on many occasions for dinner.
The rooms are lovely, very fresh and airy.
the food really is above alot of hotels.
Staff are very friendly and are always more than happy to help you with info for the area.
there is no swimming pool which is only reason for poor rating as N/A isnt an option !!

Room Tip: ask for room at back facing onto river Cocker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    128
    41
    19
    10
See reviews for
128
286
5
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here in February for the 2nd time, great hotel, staff are very friendly, rooms are lovely and spacious. The food in the restaurant is excellent.Great location on the river and in the centre of town, we can't wait to go back....

Room Tip: upgrade to an executive room or ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here recently for a wedding in nearby Lorton. We were given a free room upgrade on arrival to a junior suite. A massive room and very well appointed. They have kept some nice original features during the restoration (fireplaces, cornices, etc) which help maintain character. Staff were courteous and although we only ate breakfast in the hotel, it was all freshly cooked local produce, so no complaints there. Overall, a really nice, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kynasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Courteous staff, clean rooms, open spaces for lounging about, lovely interior, free car parking for patrons, located next door to William Wordsworth's own home, superb choice for breakfast from cereals to served-to-order hot meals. Well worth the price we paid and I would go as far as to say it could rival a five star. Couldn't knock it if I tried and will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsUsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAKE DISTRICT,UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hospitality was brill. All staff were very professional and very welcoming.
Rooms were nice, good value for money.
Breakfast was included and was lush, all local produce.

Good location, our room overlooked the river which was a nice touch. Very close to the shops and nightlife (next door to the landmark Wordsworth House).

We also ate in the terrace bistro which was really good.
Free parking.

Could not fault.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACKIEMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We like this Hotel and have stayed many times. To err is human and even a slight blip in our booking this time was handled courteously, without fuss and with great empathy. Well done the Trout staff for you exceeded our expectations once again and proved that a recent Regional Customer Service Award is much deserved. If you like good unpretentious service then the Trout is for you. It will never be like home but they do try very hard to get close.

Room Tip: Suite Rooms on the ground floor are great if you are taking a dog as there is plenty of space and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lymers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

I booked this trip as a Christmas present for my husband for a get away from it all weekend, we stayed over the hottest weekend in march which was a bonus.
I had booked a package of: 2 nights b&b with full breakfast, dinner and scones & champagne on arrival.
The reception staff and ALL staff were verreviewsming and friendly and just for this I would return. We were upgraded from an executive double bedroom to a Junior suite - lovely and a real treat.
the hotel was full and we had to have dinner on the Saturday night which was no problem for us at all, where you normally are restricted on choice of an inclusive dinner menu, this was not the case and we were able to chose ANYTHING from the menu. lovely food, great staff and overall fab!
we found the brewery tour and toughly enjoyed it, thanks to the great tour guide.
I don't like to recommend hotels but for a great relaxing, clean hotel with lovely staff,I would highly recommended the Trout.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cockermouth
5.7 km away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
18.8 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.6 km away
The Allerdale Court Hotel
The Allerdale Court Hotel
#4 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#3 of 9 in Cockermouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
9.1 km away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trout Hotel

Property: The Trout Hotel
Address: Crown Street, Cockermouth CA13 0EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Cockermouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Family Hotel in Cockermouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cockermouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trout Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at the Trout Hotel you will receive a warm, friendly welcome. We are an independent hotel, run by a close-knit team of caring, enthusiastic people who go out of their way to make you feel at home, comfortable and relaxed.Our idyllic, picture postcard setting on the bank of The River Derwent in Cockermouth and the calm, relaxing atmosphere, will help you instantly feel at ease. The luxurious, soft furnishings will help you unwind. Our thoughtful, attentive team will see to your every need. We understand that doing the little things well is what makes your stay with us so special. It’s also the reason why we welcome back so many of our friends year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Trout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Hotel Cockermouth
The Trout Hotel Cockermouth, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing