We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Good Holiday Rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dash Cottage

Front view of Dash Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Dash Cottage
Lounge with open coal fire Modern Kitchen with all amenities
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Front view of Dash Cottage
Lounge with open coal fire
Modern Kitchen with all amenities
Enclosed Rear Garden with Decking
Front view of Dash Cottage
Master Bedroom with King Size Bed
Twin Bedroom
Bassenthwaite Lake - Photo taken approx 2 miles from Dash Cottage
View of Skiddaw with Snow - Photo taken in Embleton Valley approx half a mile from Dash Cottage
Derwentwater launches at Keswick - 15 mins by car from Dash Cottage
View above Buttermere -  Buttermere is approx 15 mins by car from Dash Cottage
View of Grasmere during a Lakeside Walk - Grasmere is approx 20 mins by car from Dash Cottage
Grasmere Fells - Grasmere is approx 20 mins by car from Dash Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom H
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Good Holiday Rental”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here during early March 2015. The property is in a great location, close to Cockermouth and Keswick. I would have given an excellent if there had been wifi provided. Granted it can be "good to getaway from it all" but given the poor mobile signal in the area, an Internet connection is very useful. Life goes on as they say. The open fire is wonderful and needed in the colder months due to the property being served by storage heaters. I had to provided my own coal due to the bunker outside the kitchen being locked but I put that down to the owner not really expecting cold weather in early March.

I would certainly stay there again when visiting the area.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2015
Hi, thank you very much for your kind review. Sorry about the mix up with the coal, had some delivered on the morning you arrived - unfortunately found the merchant had locked the bunker. Hope this did not spoil your stay in any way. Very pleased you would return. Kind regards Andrea and Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reg P
1 review
“A Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Cottage was, clean, well appointed and a pleasure ti stay.
It was well located being located in a quiet village, but only a few miles from Cockermouth, and other amenities.
Would definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location and the Coal Fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your taking time to post your review and are so pleased your holiday experience with us was relaxing and comfortable.
We look forward to the opportunity to accommodating you in this beautifully unspoiled part of the Lake District in the future.
Best regards,
Andrew and Andrea.
Dash Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireKel...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Spent a few days here last May in the school holidays with my Mother in Law and my 5 year old daughter. Lovely play park out the back which she enjoyed a lot. Very cosy cottage and lovely beds, so comfy. Literally a 5 minute drive into Cockermouth where we spent hours in an antique shop and had fish and chips. A short car journey from Buttermere where we spent the day walking. Lovely little place where we had icecream and the pub is dog friendly which was a godsend to warm up by the coal fire and rest our feet before heading back to Dash. The garden is in 2 parts a small yard attached to the house (ideal for the dog) and a lovely sitting area just opposite. Lovely place and would definitely go back. Only downside is the lack of footpaths in the immediate area so got to watch the kids like hawks as the road is quite busy with trucks and farm vehicles. We walked to the Embleton Spa for lunch which didn't take long and sat outside as we had the dog with us. Lovely views from the there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, a home from home
Liked least: No footpath outside the front door or main road.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and cosiness
Liked least: Nothing apart for no dishwasher !!!! the wife tried to get me to do some!!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing