We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 coppermines”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Knighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“4 coppermines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Myself and partner stayed at 4 Coppermines cottage in Coniston during a glorious sunny week at the end of March. The cottage is located up an unmade track as described in the brochure which added to the fun and the views and location are beautiful! The cottage was well equipped with quality fittings and fixtures, the compact kitchen had everything need to cook with. Ii was warm and clean and matched the description in the brochure. The location for great for walking and biking, situated right by the walk up to the mountain, it was fantastic waking up daily and drinking a cup of tea in bed looking at the beautiful views! I notice there have been some negative reviews about this agency but I would not hesitate to recommend them as my experience was a positive one. Overall, we had a fantastic holiday in a beautiful area with glorious sunshine, very memorable!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen-and-Rich-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    49
    10
    6
    14
See reviews for
75
92
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

After booking a break at The Old Post Cottage, we found a bad review on this site which made us think about cancelling the booking. However, we decided to give Coppermines Lakes Cottages a go given the other good reviews we had seen. Very glad we did! We loved the cottage and although we shared the accommodation with a few cobwebs, considering the age of the building, we really didn't mind and felt it all added to the character. The cottage is slap bang in the centre of the village and we found that the advertising boards covering the windows in the main living area was more a plus than a minus - gave us a bit more privacy. The bathrooms, etc were clean for our arrival and we didn't mind that we were asked to tidy up before we left - only fair that the place isn't left in such a way that someone else has to spend all day cleaning it. We also met the owner and found him pleasant to speak to, along with another member of his staff. It was our first trip to the Lake District and we thoroughly enjoyed our break. We would like to return and wouldn't hesitate to book another cottage through this company.

Room Tip: We always sleep with our room window open so would recommend the smaller room at the back, due to so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FifeJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed at the cottage for the New Year week. What a delight, the lane to it is described as steep and narrow, its easily drivable and only short. We arrived in pouring rain and wind to a warm and cozy cottage, very clean and tidy. Love the layout and furnishings, not a thing to complain about. The open fire was fantastic. And then the views, every window was picture perfect, even from the loo! Will definately return.
Thanks Coppermines for a brilliant New Year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We booked this for a 4 day short break at half term and arrived to find a British Gas man in the kitchen having dismantled the bolier. The boiler although leaking was declared safe and has a history of breakdowns we were told. We were advised that the hot water would be intermittent but the heating should be fine, this was true. We gained access to the property at 5pm. With an electric shower we could manage without baths for this time.
Coppermines advised us there was no where else to stay which is understandable at half term, they offered us our money back which we didn't want to do as we were looking forward to the break. Our concern was the attitude of one member of staff we spoke to, he was rude to say the least and not once did he apologise saying 'we only found out from the owner about the boiler problem this afternoon' and asked 'what do you want me to do?.
We moved on and made the best of the break. The property is in a fabulous location and Coniston is a place we love.
The cleanliness of the property was poor, sticky patches in the fridge, each time we switched on one of the rings of the cooker the electrics went out, lights above the mirror in the bathroom didn't work. Incredible photography used in the brochure.

All that said we had a good time in a great location. It is a shame, we probably were just unlucky with this Coppermines property.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dav01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppermines, Manager at The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
We let this cottage on behalf of the owners who clean and maintain the property themselves. British Gas are responsible for the maintenence of the central heating/hot water boiler and plumbing system on a permanent service contract. On the date in question the British Gas engineer attended the cottage within two hours of the fault being reported.

We are sorry that the guest was inconvienienced on his arrival at the cottage but we think it is grossly unfair to single us out when the maintenence is handled by others and we merely pass on messages.

On the date in question all our properties were fully booked and we could not therefore offer the guest alternative accommodation and we did not think it unreasonable to seek to have the repair carried out as quickly as possible. The engineer had completed his work at the property less than 30 minutes after the guests arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Cannot thank Phil and staff enough for making our stay great. The free wifi is definitely a bonus. Love the slate worktops in the kitchen. Our party of 15 adults, four children, a baby and two dogs had plenty of space in three interlinked cottages. Phil advised on walks and is very knowledgable about the area it's history and geography. His passion for the area is infectious. The cottages were spotlessly clean and we enjoyed using the fire pit and sat outside until 11 pm on an unusually warm evening on September 30th. The open fire was great when the weather turned cooler and we found the old mining equipment very quaint. I can imagine how nice wedding would be here the setting is quite idyllic and far from the crowds of Windemere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfraggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Stayed for an extended weekend with family (no children) in the Fairsnape Cottage.

Location - Beautiful, the cottage was fairly high up and you do have to negotiate a steep bendy road but I thought it was well worth it. Took about 5mins to walk down to the village shops and 10mins back up the hill to the cottage. There is a small co-op and also a well stocked grocery/butchers, in addition conveniently enough at the bottom of the hill there was a BP which had a small shop (Spar) which is open till 10pm daily.

Rooms - The rooms were large and spacious, they do feel a little worn but still very comfotable and clean. The rooms are well heated and theres was plenty of hot water.

Now for the downside, I think a little more attention on the rooms would make the world of difference as I can't quite bring myself to rate this a 5 star stay as the toilet seats were wobbly (one needed to be replaced), the shower curtain in the room we were in didn't go all the way around, the shower head was cracked, the blinds in some of the rooms didn't function and there were some loose door handles. However these do seem like small issues in an otherwise great stay and nothing to lose sleep over (although on that note I'd have preferred a firmer matress).

Facilities - A small BBQ is provided and would have been perfect had it not been for the weather, but all the same it's a nice touch and still managed to enjoy the outdoor seating when I had breakfast.

Booking - Pretty straight forward, booked through the website and the cottage is as described in the brochure, had little interaction with staff except for when I went to collect some firewood (readily available from many shops).

Overall - Would stay again and have already recommended the cottage to others. It did seem a little expensive, but we stayed during the school holidays so I guess that was to be expected.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed in Willow Tree Cottage. Fantastic location,cottage left a lot to be desired. Very basic accomadation for the amount of money we paid. No shelf in the bathroom for toiletires, no bath mat. Oven tray in kitchen did not even fit in the oven and everytime we opened the oven door the grill door above fell on our heads. Door leading into utility room was all smashed and taped up.And cleanliness of the property left a lot to be desired.Cheapest crockery and cutlery you could buy. I could go on and on..... Will not be reccommending them

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 186525Mary42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppermines, Manager at The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
We have over seventy cottage that vary in standard and price. Willow Tree cottage was independently graded by VisitBritain as a three star cottage in April 2011 and is priced accordingly. This is a very popular cottage that lets for in excess of 48 weeks a year and the owners do not currently plan to upgrade the cottage as it offers good value accommodation in a popular location. This guest had previously stayed (out of season and at a discounted rate) in another of our cottages of a much higher standard and we believe that the guest's expectations were higher than that of Willow Tree Cottage. Our office is open seven days a week and guests are welcome to telephone us at the time of booking if they want any more information about our cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
11.2 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 km away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
1.0 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
13.0 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 km away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages

Property: The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages
Address: The Estate Office | The Bridge, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Coniston
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a range of over 70 individal and unique holiday cottages in the Lake District sleeping from 2 to 30 people. Cottages of quality and character, all independently graded by VisitBritain to either a three or four star standard. Cottages sleep from 2-30 people and we can offer a choice of properties to meet guests specific requirements from cosy traditional 300 year old cottages with lots of character to modern village centre cottages. Cottages are available for full weeks, weekends or mid-week shortbreaks. Pets Welcome. We can offer cottages suitable for families, larger groups, house parties, and romantic weekends; cottages with lake views, log fires, spectacular views, walks from the door and all set in the beautiful landscape of the Lake District with easy access to the lakes and mountains.Full property descriptions, lots of photos, prices, special offers and live availability can all be viewed on our web-site. For further assistance please call our reservations office in Coniston where all our team have first hand knowledge of all our properties. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Coppermines & Lakes Cottages Hotel Coniston
The Coppermines And Lakes Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing