We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sun Coniston
Nearby Hotels
Waterhead Hotel(Coniston)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Coniston Holly How(Coniston)(Great Value!)
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeland House(Coniston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Yewdale Inn(Coniston)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bluebird Lodge(Coniston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
84
72
58
24
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
72
58
24
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubhaggisold mannew cheflake districtlots of charactersunday roastcomfy beddays walkinglovely foodfamily roomgreat beera lovely staybreakfast was excellentconservatoryalesportions
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 288 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Dropped in for an evening meal. Delicious contemporary pub grub, salt and pepper whitebait followed by steak and ale and chicken and leek pies. Beers very well kept, selection of 8 local ales, with the choice of a 3 1/3 pint taster board. Staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful. Fully recommend a visit.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank GFSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Coniston, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your kind comments. It's a shame you won't be here for our Gin and tapas night on the 20th, hope to see you again soon.
Regards the Sun inn Coniston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

Coniston great pub sits on the hill above the village with great views warm and friendly with great local beers and locally sourced food
Dog friendly! Live sports! Food specials/ live music really good value! Log fires what more do you need x

Stayed: October 2016
3  Thank PennyLane8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Coniston, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2016

Thank you for writing a review, we hope you manage to join us at one of our events all advertised on face book.
Regards the Sun Inn Coniston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2016

We spent a lovely evening in here, choice of several real ales, fantastic steak and ale pie, halloumi kebab was excellent vegetarian option. Great service from very friendly staff. Cosy atmosphere with log fires and candlelit tables. We were able to take our dog too.
Hope to be back soon. Good job!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kipp318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Coniston, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Thank you for your review, we love all our four legged customers!
Regards the sun Coniston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

Stopped off in this pub after our walk over the old man. Was met at the bar by a lovely young lady named Gemma. Drink was very good and not priced too bad either. Gemma however was amazing....and beautiful

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Coniston, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Thank you for your review, we have passed your comments onto Gemma who was thrilled. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards the Sun coniston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016 via mobile

We'd heard about The Sun @ Coniston from friends of ours who had eaten Sunday lunch the week previous and absolutely loved it so we thought it worth a try!
3 guys for a quick lunch, we had the lamb kebab, chicken kebab and the beef burger. All three meals were absolutely delicious and great value for money.
Not food related but.. really liked the idea of donating to a local charity to get the wi-fi code, nice touch.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharonandalan, Bar maid at The Sun Coniston, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

It was lovely too see you all and hope you visit us again soon, thank you for your fantastic review.
Regards the sun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews