We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage within metres of Coniston shore!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blea Brows

Entering the courtyard!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner! New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
Entering the courtyard!
Cosy woodburner!
New comfy two seater sofa and 'firm' supportive armchair - for ease of dismount!
New comfy two seater sofa!
(as promised!)
New comfy three seater sofa.  (As also promised!)
Hallway
Double bedroom
Twin or double bedroom
Further twin or double
Kitchen
Kitchen table
View across the courtyard
View from the landing
The new patio and garden furniture!
Down by the lake
Lake shore beach
The lake shore in winter.  Not much beach but plenty of snow!
View down the lake - Fairfield
Wildcat Island!
Blawith Common beach to walk to!
...and the same view in the snow!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jmmcsparr...
1 review
“Cosy cottage within metres of Coniston shore!”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Lovely homely and cosy accommodation. Perfect for getting out in our kayaks on Coniston from own private beach only 2 minutes walk from door down good track. Lovely walks from the door. Well equipped and great range of information, maps and local books to use. Properly dog friendly including enclosed garden and washable floors downstairs for muddy paws! Great for our family get together. Thanks so much. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're always delighted when people enjoy staying as much as we do ourselves! Yes, we've tried to make the place as 'practical' and wipe clean as possible. The Lake District has a lot of mud in it, which dogs do their best to transfer into the house! I know that ours have! Anyway, do come again. Thanks again, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregChest...
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage but garden not suitable for dogs”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

All lovely and very much enjoyed our stay. However I probably would not return with our dogs. We specifically chose the cottage because the garden was enclosed and safe to let the dogs out there unsupervised. However the photos are a little misleading as it is open on one side - of course the first thing they did was run up a steep bank in the pitch black and round to the front of the house where they can jump down and unfortunately sheep roam here.There is also an 8t drop round the back that isn't fenced off.One other niggle is that the description says you can walk to the lake and join up with the common and take longer walks from here, however there is a note in the cottage that says this has now been closed and access is not allowed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy cottage in the woods near the lake
Liked least: Not being able to let dogs out on their own
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
We were sorry to hear about your experiences with the dogs. Sometimes it's hard to view somewhere entirely from tenants eyes, as we have been going there so long and it has never been a problem for all of our dogs. I can see that it's possible for 'tenacious' dogs to escape - I think maybe Cocker Spaniels aren't quite so adventurous! Anyway, we value your comments and in time, will endeavour to make the grounds more secure. The walk to the common is fairly recent and I hadn't realised that the details had not been updated. I have amended that now! Thank you for taking time out to review your stay. We rely on feedback to help us improve the cottage for our tenants. I hope that it didn't spoil it for you. Regards, Phil and Kate Okeden
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazzyking
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in secluded location.”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Blea Brows is the perfect place for a peaceful relaxing break. Situated in a private courtyard set in a woodland off the main road, the cottage is comfortably furnished and very well equipped. The log burner in the cosy lounge is an attractive feature but fortunately during our stay the weather was very mild and we didn't need to light it. The bedrooms are a fair size and having three bathrooms was a huge advantage for our family of six adults and a toddler. We were fortunate enough to have lovely weather and a walk to the private beach on the shore of Coniston water to see the fantastic Autumn colours was just idyllic.
The only down side were the neighbours who were over zealous in coming out to check we were not blocking their access when it was clearly obvious our son was just unloading his car before parking it in the designated parking area, but apart from that we had a wonderful stay at this delightful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Thanks for your very generous review! We're really pleased you had great weather. It's certainly magical at that time of year. It's a tough call with the parking. We have lovely neighbours who are actually incredibly tolerant of our tenants. Sometimes, I guess, they can be 'worn' down by having to 'police' their access. Just one of those things! Thanks again, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
243Rachel...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“All we needed for a comfortable stay in this beautiful,peaceful spot”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Very much enjoyed our week despite heavy rain & wind. Unfortunately not able to make use of the barbeque & back garden. So much more to see & do next time!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thanks for your review! Sorry you had a miserable weather week. Glad you were able to enjoy it nevertheless. It's quite nice and cosy when it's wet outside and the woodburner's on....! All the best, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadd79
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Homely cottage in an unspoilt location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here to celebrate my Mum and Dad's 40th wedding anniversary. The location was wonderful, near enough to Coniston to not feel cut-off but in an unspoilt, peaceful place on the edge of the lake. We were lucky enough to have great weather and made the most of the garden furniture and BBQ. We had a toddler and found it quite child friendly with a high chair and cot. If you are worried about stairs you might want to pack a stair gate. It was very kind of the owners to leave us a bottle of wine for our first night and we found the place to be very clean and tidy and the decor to a good standard. If I have one small complaint it is that the high chair was very dusty and covered in cobwebs. They knew a child was coming, so it would have been nice if that was already clean. But apart from that minor point, it was a great stay and I would not hesitate to go back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm glad that you were able to celebrate your parents 40th wedding anniversary there. Sorry about the travel cot. It tends to only get occasional use, but we should have ensured it was 'dust free'. We've added that job to our 'check-in' check list - Thanks!
All the best, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilshers
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful and peaceful hideaway beside the lake - just what we wanted.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Being already familiar with this part of the lakes (staying as a child with grandparents in Grange, caravanning with our own toddlers in Park Coppice and hiring lodges at Neum Crag), we decided this year we really wanted a lakeside cottage and Blea Brows was just the perfect place. Teenagers loved their rooms, three bathrooms meant no arguments (Brownie points) and the kitchen was very well equipped which was a good job too as we ate in more often than usual due to us all wanting to be at the beach either swimming, snorkelling, rope swinging, skimming, barbecuing and kayaking! Along for the ride was 8 month chocolate Cocker pup Eddie with a quiff who learnt to swim in Coniston Water and once he had a taster, it became an early evening daily treat! Lovely meals had in Torver at the Wilson Arms, Sun Hotel in Coniston and Cafe 26 in Keswick. We had a fantastic time and didn't want to leave - in fact Phil and Kate, can we book a regular annual slot every summer?

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thanks guys! So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It sounds very much like our family holidays at the cottage. It's brilliant for both teenagers and dogs! (our cocker spaniel loves swimming too!) We'd love you to come again and would like to offer you a 10% discount as a valued customer!
All the best, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilliande...
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning location great hideaway”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely cottage with a stunning surprise. The use of the private beach was the icing on the cake. This is a lovely well equipped cottage in a great location if you want to get away from it all. 4 adults a little one two dogs and a babe in arms managed easily with a well equipped cottage. Going to the beach at 7 in the morning was magical and the rope swing kept a 7 year old entertained along with stone skimming and swimming

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Glad you had such a great time. It is a magical place for young children. Ours enjoyed it in exactly the same way - swimming, swinging, skimming - just as yours did! Being able to go down to the lake shore early in the morning is something special. We've been going for over thirty years and we still feel privileged to be there! When we leave, we always dip our hands in the lake and make a wish. You are most welcome to come again. Thanks, Phil and Kate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing