We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COLOURFUL LANGUAGE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“COLOURFUL LANGUAGE”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

On Tues 20th March at approx 2 o clock, my husband and I called into the Black bull in coniston for lunch and to try the real ales. the lady behind the bar was friendly enough and there was a good selection of ales to buy, but as we decided on what to have for lunch the chef of cook (male) came out of the kitchen area and started to have a conversation with the bar staff and I have never heard so many F words in one sentence.
this language is best kept in the kitchen where it belongs not in front of the paying customer.
at this point we decided to skip lunch and go elsewhere.
this for me was a big negative.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AMELIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    165
    49
    24
    18
See reviews for
84
203
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bury lancs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at The Black Bull for two nights as a relaxing break. We have stayed on several previous occasions and were welcomed back like old friends. We stayed in Room 4 in the annex which was very spacious with a king-size bed and spotlessly clean.
A nice touch were the patio doors leading onto a secluded paved area which would be ideal in summer to sit out with a drink and unwind after a days walking.

Breakfasts and evening meals were to the usual high standard with the exception of a chicken curry which my wife had on our last night and didn't meet expectations. However after a word with Lorraine behind the bar the meal was removed from the bill without any fuss.

We had a really good rest and enjoyed the area at this time of year, all in all another excellent stay at this lovely inn and we will be back this summer for more of the same. Thanks to Sue, Lorraine, Mark and Michelle for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are nice and quiet as they are away from the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

good location ,ate there on the saturday night,prices comparable to the other pubs in coniston,20.00 for steak,more than you would pay at home.but still very good quality.ate in the reastaurant at the top end,waited forty minutes for our food,and where we sat was freezing.good beer,with their own brewery.would recommend a visit.walk to the lake was about ten minutes and its just so beautiful.

Room Tip: good for a pint after a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaynesslater45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

we where visiting coniston whilst on holiday in our caravan in troutbreck every where u go in the lake district you have to pay for parking and we wanted to wander down to the lake so after lunch we asked the bar staff if we could leave our car in the car paRK WHILST WE WANDERED DOWN TO THE LAKE THIS WAS NO PROBLEM THEY SAID

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueflintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here March 2011. Really nice atmosphere with great locally made beer.
The room we had was large with a couple of chairs in the window to sit and look out from the front of the building. Had a meal in the pub which was also great.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beermatt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowness-on-Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Excellent food, great beer and very friendly staff. Good veggie options and a lovely atmosphere. Love it !!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorrinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Visited here 3/11/11, lovely country / village pub, realy friendly staff, the food was very good, there were only a couple of vegetarian options, but they were amazing when they arrived. Brilliant friendly atmosphere, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coniston
0.0 km away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
277 reviews
0.8 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
652 reviews
7.8 km away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
958 reviews
10.1 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
11.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bull Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bull Inn and Hotel

Property: Black Bull Inn and Hotel
Address: Coppermines Road | Yewdale Road, Coniston LA21 8HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Duddon Valley > Coniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Coniston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bull Inn and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Black Bull Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bull Hotel Coniston
Black Bull Coniston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing