We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious Family lounge area with 50' TV and log burning fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious Family lounge area with 50' TV and log burning fire
Coniston Water in Summer Large Oak dining table seats 8 adults
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Spacious Family lounge area with 50' TV and log burning fire
Coniston Water in Summer
Large Oak dining table seats 8 adults
Master bedroom with king-sized bed TV/DVD player and en-suite
Master bedroom en-suite double shower enclosure, slate flooring
Torver Jetty after a storm
New kitchen with slate floor, dishwasher, washing machine and fridge/freezer, electric hob and oven
Entrance hallway with plenty of room to hang coats and store walking boots or cycles
Spacious twin bedroom with TV/DVD player
Visit Britain grading
Second twin bedroom with oak furniture
Family bathroom with large bath and shower over, slate flooring
Lawned garden and patio area
Early morning Coniston Water from Bluebird Cafe
Char Fishing competition on Coniston Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
yasmin a
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My sister and I stayed with our children. The cottage was absolutely gorgeous, so clean, beautifully equipped, I can honestly say there was nothing that the owners had not already thought of. The log fire was lovely and welcoming after a long walk. We had a lovely few days in stunning cottage with views to match. The pub over the road, what more can I say, the food quality and portion sizes were amazing. We will definitely stop here again if ever we visit the Lakes again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, homely feel
Liked least: Having to leave :-(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you and your sister had a wonderful stay and always aim to provide the best experience for our guests, the proximity of two great hostelries is a welcome bonus.
Best regards
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful house everything totally catered for”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Ash Gill so well equipped lovely and warm and every need catered for. Very well presented Stayed for the Christmas period, nice tree all decorated and welcome pack of Christmas treats. Thank you we will be staying again I'm sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a wonderful review of your stay with us at Christmas.
We are glad that you enjoyed the 'Christmas treats' that we left for you and that the house was lovely and warm, there were a few days where it was quite chilly outside.
Our house manager takes great pride in presenting the house for our guests and will appreciate your wonderful comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ash Gill Cottage in Torver.
Best regards,
Bev and Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna R
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic holiday house with everything we needed.”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

One of the nicest holiday houses we have stayed in. Very clean, modern and had everything we needed. Wilson arms pub was just round the corner and was great. Would definitely recommend this house to friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Thank you for posting a wonderful review, it is lovely to know that Ash Gill Cottage is enjoyed as 'one of the nicest'.

We're pleased that you found everything you needed for your holiday. We periodically review whether any 'additions' would benefit the house and future guests.

We also place a large emphasis on cleanliness and glad that you found Ash Gill Cottage 'very clean and modern'.

Thank you for 'recommending' us and taking the time to write a review.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Bev and Pete.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
launceston, Australia
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: reclineing seats and large tv
Liked least: the heating not coming on at times stated.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Oct 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Ash Gill Cottage.
We are glad that the photos show an accurate representation of the house and it's facilities, which is always great for any future guests wishing to book also.
We hope you enjoyed your trip and glad that you found everything you needed, and yes we agree, a torch is a 'must-have' as it does get incredibly dark up in Torver - great for stargazing and meteor showers in clear dark skies.
We hope you had a great journey back to Australia and if you're ever back in the UK, I hope we can welcome you back once again.
Best regards,
Bev and Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking time out to write a wonderful review of your longer than usual stay with us.
It is fantastic to learn that the house can deliver a comfortable, normal day to day living experience by 6 adults staying longer than the usual weekend or week long visit, and serves as an ideal base for those who wish to explore the delights that Lakeland and the local area has to offer.
We are glad that you would recommend us, it was indeed a pleasure to welcome you to the local community for your time with us (our local quizmaster for the Sunday night quiz enjoyed your regular attendance). We hope that you completed your projects in good time and wish you much success with them and your future studies.
We also hope to welcome you back to Torver and Ash Gill Cottage at some point in the future.
Kindest regards to you all.
Bev and Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy B
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comefortable cottage near Coniston”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ash Gill cottage was an excellent choice for our holiday this year, it was well equipped, newly refurbished and well located. The rooms are all good sizes with a lovely spacious family / dining room. There is plenty of off road parking and a small enclosed rear garden the boys used to play in.
The local pub is great for food and drinks. Coniston water was less commercialised than Lake Windermere, it offered a fun day out without the crowds but is just as picturesque. There are lovely walks by the water or up the mountains and the boys loved Go Ape which is near by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equiped cottage
Liked least: lots of spam from Holiday lettings
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
We're glad the boys had a great time at Go Ape and you managed to fill your week exploring.
Finding the house spacious enough for your family and equipped enough to serve its purpose - we're happy to have achieved that for you.
We hope to welcome you back to Torver and Ash Gill Cottage again in the future.
Best wishes
Bev and Pete
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice9872
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Set up”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had an excellent stay at Ash Gill. Plenty of space, really nicely decorated inside and beautifully clean on arrival. The location is fantastic for exploring the Lake District.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
We are so pleased you had an excellent stay at Ash Gill, Torver and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
We do endeavour to maintain high standards of cleanliness and is one of our main priorities. It is nice to hear that the effort which is put in to keep the house 'beautifully clean', is appreciated by us and our housekeeper.
We're glad that you found an ideal base for exploring the wider Lakeland area and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Bev
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing