We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shelt Gill

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Coniston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lchilds77...
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We spent the Christmas Break in Shelt Gill and found it to be a perfect, warm, cosy cottage - just what we needed to unwind. The location was perfect for us with excellent walks for the dog right on the doorstep and beautiful views out of the Lounge/Dining room windows. Would visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage location and looks
Liked least: Maybe no wifi(For the children)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review Andrew!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ed w
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable well equipped cottage with great views and convenient to Coniston village, however unenclosed garden would not be suitable for very young children or unleashed dogs but this did not detract from our personal holiday. Special feature was memory foam mattress on beds and cushioned window seat with view of lake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seenabit1...
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We, four adults, stayed at Shelt Gill in July 2016. The cottage is lovely, beautifully located and very cosy. The kitchen is well stocked, the lounge/dining area is very spacious and the bedrooms are a good size. It is in easy walking distance of a pub and the lake and not very far to Coniston. Jon was very responsive to all our requests. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view.
Liked least: The weather (not really the propertys fault?)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed Shelt Gill, thanks for the lovely write up. Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA K
1 review
“A perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband and I stayed in Shelt Gill with 2 teenagers, who had never experienced a holiday in a cottage in beautiful rural setting before. They enjoyed every minute of the natural beauty of the surroundings and the homeliness of the quaint drystone cottage!
We all had a weekend of bliss!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
So glad you and your family enjoyed the stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharron K
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A slice of pure heaven”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our stay at Shelt Gill got off to a shaky start when we were greeted on our first morning with no electricity. However after a short walk into Coniston the landlord of the Black Bull pub made us a sumpteous bacon buttie and cup of coffee. When we returned to the cottage the neighbours had been onto the electric board and told us that the power would be restored on the afternoon - which it was. The views in every direction are stunning and everything is walking distance, the village, the lake, somewhere to eat, shop. The cottage is warm and comfy and the window seat is the most amazing place to sit. The garden is perfect for wildlife photography. The neighbours are really friendly, as are the staff at the nearby Ship Inn where we were welcomed every time we walked in. Its a perfect place to stay if you are looking for peace, quiet, beautiful scenery, and friendly locals, The area is also equipped to cater for those who enjoy cycling, walking and sailing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and window seat
Liked least: Toaster was hard to use
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparka201...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect location, beautiful cottage”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here with my 7 and 10 year olds who had just read Swallows and Amazons. The views from the windows are stunning, as is the sound of the stream. Inside, we all loved the window seats, the upside down layout, the comfy beds and the calm. Outside we loved the disused railway line that runs opposite and leads to Torver (and pubs), The Ship Inn and the footpath to the lakeshore (2 mins walk) and Coniston (5 mins). It meant being able to do so many walks and bike rides without needing the car.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing