We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ben Place Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Well equipped galley kitchen
Family bathroom with shower over the bath
Ensuite bathroom
View from the door
Sunny patio area
View from the lane with parking for 2 - 3 cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Grasmere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynn F
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed July 29, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Ben Place is set in a peaceful location just 10 minutes walk from the village of Grasmere. The cottage is cozy, clean and well equipped with everything you need to feel relaxed and at home. Views are amazing looking out from the cottage and we enjoyed seeing the wild deer visiting the neighbour’s garden. A private seating area was available but we also enjoyed sitting in the porch area of the cottage admiring the wonderful scenery. Car parking area is private and located very near to the cottage.

Grasmere tea room was perfect for lunch time if you enjoy sitting by the riverbank and we’d also recommend the Jumble Room for an evening meal if you appreciate good food and friendly customer service. It’s very popular though so make sure you book a table in advance and although it’s small there is an upstairs floor which we found out about.

There are plenty of walks from the door step and it was nice not having to use the car, the bus service is very regular avoiding the need to find a parking space in busy Ambleside. We walked into Ambleside and caught the open top deck bus back to Grasmere. There are plenty of places to eat and drink in Grasmere but there’s also a well stocked local co-op if you fancy eating/drinking in for a change.

Overall we’ve had a lovely week and the weather has been kind so we’ve enjoyed our stay at Ben Place and would love to visit again. The owners Wendy and Hugh have been very quick responding to emails when we made the booking and provide a very informative information booklet when you arrive.

Thanks for a lovely week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewW304
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage and location”
Reviewed July 19, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Cottage is totally as described and very easy to find. We had a peaceful and very relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings. Wendy and Hugh are excellent hosts and very easy to communicate with. The cottage is well equipped with everything you need and within short walk from Grasmere village. We found the time we spent here both relaxing and rewarding with plenty to see and do. There are plenty of walks for every level of fitness. Having stayed in many cottages in UK and Ireland this one is at the top. Thank you Wendy and Hugh for allowing us to stay.We will certainly recommend to our friends and family

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
upandgo
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 5, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We have just returned from a lovely one week stay at Ben Place Cottage.
The property is situated in a quiet location but just a short 5 to 10 minute
walk into the centre of Grasmere itself. The property is immaculate and
well presented with tasteful soft furnishings and good sized bedrooms
each with a separate bathroom facility. The kitchen is well equipped with
everything you need for a self catering holiday. From our initial inquiry to
arriving at this holiday cottage the owners Wendy and Hugh were quick to
answer any questions and provided full details on how to reach the property.
Also there is a comprehensive booklet on how to use the various appliance
with recommendations for eating out and shopping in the local area. We
would highly recommend this cottage and look forward to a return visit in
the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doobles63
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting”
Reviewed November 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We chose this cottage over staying at a local hotel, partly because most hotels were booked but more importantly we wanted the freedom and space, on arrival we were delighted we made this choice. The owners Wendy & Hugh are excellent to communicate with, they are very quick in their responses and their instructions in the house on how to use items are first class. They are also very helpful with any local knowledge you may have questions on. The cottage is tucked away in a small road just off the main Grasmere/Keswick road, so is easily accessible but very quiet and importantly for us has parking space for 2 -3 cars, in fact we never used our car for the week we were there. The cottage is only 8-10 minutes pleasant stroll into Grasmere with plenty of walks right from the door (recommend Alcock Tarn & Easedale Tarn) and many restaurants (recommend The Jumble Room & Lewis's) within a short walking distance. The Cottage is cosy, clean & spacious with just about all the facilities (of good standard and quality) you could want on a self catering holiday, in fact a "home from home" experience. Overall, we had an excellent stay in a well positioned "hidden gem" and certainly look forward to a return visit. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David N
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a relaxing Lake District getaway”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely spot, tucked away down a very quiet lane with space for two cars to park off-road. The cottage is very well appointed and had everything we needed (except for the exceedingly minor oversight of cereal bowls). It's a short 5/10 min walk away from the heart of Grasmere - so has great access for shops/restaurants etc. Also very handy for getting out on the trails with some great walks starting only a few yards away from the front door. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. Would happily stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2017
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay. There are definitely cereal bowls at the cottage! We can only guess that the previous guests had moved things around and you didn't come across them, but they are definitely there - somewhere! Thanks again, Wendy & Hugh Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J5154SJga...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, well equipped and homely.”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is peaceful and quiet but you can walk to the busy centre of Grasmere within 10 minutes. Ideal location for central lakes giving you access to many wonderful walks and fells.
The cottage was very clean and well equipped with nice shower and bath which was essential after a long day walking and climbing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing