We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideally located cottage to introduce my family to...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Grasmere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Genericre...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not luxury”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful property situated in a stunning location which is marketed as luxury on the agents website.

We were one of three couples staying for a long family weekend. The reason we have not given it top marks is because we did not have a luxurious stay. Firstly and less importantly the Dishwasher did not work. Secondly the mattress on the antique French bed in the lower ground floor bedroom had completely collapsed on one side. My partner was forced to sleep on the floor for three consecutive nights. We departed feeling achy, annoyed and frustrated. Some simple housekeeping checks could have prevented our sleepless and stressful nights. This is not the standard we expect from a property that has the word ‘luxury’ in its description.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
Good morning
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read that you had issues during your stay. As a company we pride ourselves on our customer service and go out of our way to ensure guests have an enjoyable stay with us. Our staff check the properties on a regular basis. We do ask guests to make us aware of any issues during their stay so that we have an opportunity to rectify any problems. We were not contacted by yourselves. The dishwasher at the property developed a problem at the beginning of the month and the repair done as soon as was possible. Guests were made aware of this prior to arrival and apologies given. The housekeeper has confirmed that there are no problems with the mattresses at the property - all are in perfect condition. Hollens farmhouse is a popular property which receives excellent reviews. Nevertheless we are sorry that the property did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil T
1 review
“Ideally located cottage to introduce my family to the Lake District”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This 17th century farmhouse in the centre of the Lake District was an ideal base to introduce my family to the area that I visited many times as a youth over 50 years ago while growing up in Lancashire. The 4-bedroom, 4-bathroom 'cottage' provided ideal accommodation for four adults and three children. The children really enjoyed playing in the small garden, walking through the fields to the village for Grasmere gingerbread and hiking to Alcock Tarn above the cottage. The only downside was the lack of provision of towels - a significant discouragement for promotion to overseas visitors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and large size of rooms
Liked least: Lack of towels
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2015
Good afternoon

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Hollens Farmhouse. We are delighted that you found the farmhouse ideal for your needs in a great location. We are sorry that you found the lack of towels an inconvenience but hope it didn't spoil your stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the future if you visit the UK again.

Kind regards

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne
Reviewed April 4, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback of your stay at Hollens Farmhouse, Grasmere.

We are pleased you found the directions to the property provided by Lakes Cottage Holidays easy to follow and enjoyed the facilities at the property including the en-suite bathrooms and the comfortable living room.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Hollens Farmhouse soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southport
Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review of Hollens Farmhouse.

We are delighted you are regular visitors of the Lake District and thought Hollens Farmhouse was the best you have stayed in!

We are pleased you enjoyed the location and facilities on offer at the property.

Thank you for recommending Hollens Farmhouse!

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Hollens Farmhouse or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newcastle upon tyne
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay at Hollens Farmhouse, Grasmere.

We are delighted to learn you found the property to be in a good location and well furnished for your stay.

Lakes Cottage Holidays are sorry to hear you did not find the cleanliness of the property to be at a high standard. We have passed on your comments to the cleaner of the property so she can take your points on board.

We do ask guests to let our offices know of any problems they have during their stay so we can rectify them as soon as possible. According to our records, we have no evidence to suggest that you had brought this to our attention. We are very sorry this happened however as we were not notified at the time, we were unable to rectify the situation during your stay.

We hope we do welcome you back to a Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bidford on avon
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review on Hollens Farmhouse.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this property and we look forward to welcoming you back to one of our properties in the future.

Kind Regards

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esher
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review on Hollens Farmhouse

We are pleased to hear that you found our website and booking procedures easy to follow. We are sorry to hear that your directions were not attached to the initial booking confirmation but that this was quickly rectified.

Your review has been passed to the owner of the property so that they can act accordingly regarding your requests and comments.

The location of Hollens Farmhouse is perfect for exploring the surrounding areas, with walks direct from the door and the village only a stroll away.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hollens Farmhouse in the future.

Kind Regards

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing