We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and convenient”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Grasmere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lolas45
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy and convenient”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a terrific stay at Wansfell cottage. It was warm, cosy beds, well equipped kitchen. Ambleside is a perfect location to explore around with many walks starting in the village. There is a great choice of restaurants and shops. The cottage was roomier than it looked from outside. The parking permit is great and there was never an issue finding a place within a few minutes from the house. All round fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: perfect location
Liked least: nothing we would have stayed a lot longer if we had the time
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Good afternoon
We do not appear to have a booking for you at Old Bakers Cottage in Grasmere. Your comments refer to a Wansfell Cottage which we do not manage here at Lakes Cottage Holidays.
Should you wish to return to the Lake District we would be delighted to welcome you and our cottages are available to view at www.lakescottageholiday.co.uk
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurissa...
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Excellent cottage with great amenities, lots of space and comfort. A washer, microwave and good utensils. It was a little difficult arriving in the dark searching for the key and the car space is impossible! Glad a permit was provided inside he cottage.
No towels was disappointing when arriving late and from o/eases.
I would stay again with towels provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: NO TOWELS! for o/seas visitors arrivin g late from long distances, it was much dearer than comparable locations, WiFi given was incorrect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback following your stay at Old Bakers Cottage.

We are pleased you found the cottage comfortable and with great amenities.

Lakes Cottage Holidays do state in your confirmation email for Old Bakers Cottage "Please note towels are not provided with this property." Some of our properties provide towels and some do not, this is indicated on the property's website details if they will provide towels.

However, our offices in Keswick and Windermere do have towels available to hire at an additional cost. However, we do need to be made aware in good time to ensure we have a sufficient number of towels available.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Old Bakers Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlands gill
Reviewed April 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you for informing Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback of your stay at Old Bakers Cottage, Grasmere.

Thank you for recommending Old Bakers Cottage to others!

We are delighted you found the property well equipped, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Old Bakers Cottage soon.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed November 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
Thank you for your feedback of Old Bakers Cottage, Grasmere.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed the location of the cottage and found your stay comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back to Old Bakers Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holiday property in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leighton Buzzard
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Aug 2013
Thank you for your review of Old Bakers Cottage

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this property and that the service we provided was good.

We are sorry that you had issues on your return home and we hope that this did not detract too much from your enjoyment of the Lake District.

We hope that we can welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JohnCLeig...
Southend on Sea
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old Bakers Cottage nice but noisy”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in a very convenient position but lack of sufficient insulation between the cottage and the accomodation directly above means every noise is heard day or night. A number of comments have been made in the visitors book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and condition
Liked least: noise levels
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood
Reviewed November 26, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing