We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We chose Woodland Crag based on the reviews of previous guests, and we were as enchanted as everyone else.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodland Crag Guest House
Ranked #14 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
St Sampson
2 reviews
“We chose Woodland Crag based on the reviews of previous guests, and we were as enchanted as everyone else.”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We arrived after a long drive from the south coast and were met by Mo with her cheerful, friendly manner and her delicious scones and tea. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a view which would be hard to beat anywhere in the world. Jacks breakfasts could not be faulted, and the atmosphere in the dining room around the big table was friendly and fun. The village of Grasmere is lovely with plenty of very nice places to eat, and is within an easy drive of lots of interesting places.
We had never been to the Lake District before, but I'm sure that we will return if only for the view from our bedroom window and Mo's hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandCGsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We arrived at Woodland Crag Guest House just as the tail-end of a hurricane was hitting the North West of England - we could barely see to drive! The wecome from our hosts, Mo and Jak was warm and friendly and we soon settled in after tea and scones. Our room had views to die for - an extremely comfortable bed and fantastic bathroom. Breakfasts were delicious. We will certainly return in the Spring to enjoy Mo and Jak's hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 1 - great views, huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is the ideal place to stay if you are a couple and wanting some peaceful time out. Set in idyllic surroundings with lovely views you could not wish for a cosier place to stay. Mo extends a very warm welcome as you arrive and Jack cooks a mean breakfast! If like us you do not eat meat for breakfast then fish was served at our request....it was delicious and set us up for some fabulous walking expeditions during the day.

The place was spotless, warm and very cosy. Our room (3) was very comfortable and offered lovely views over Grasmere and I took a lot of pleasure watching the birds feed on the feeder below! It was wonderful and on the first night another wish of mine was granted - a young deer visited the neighbours garden. If you want to stay here book early as we were very lucky and they close from October to March....pity we would have gone back for my birthday, wedding anniversary and new year - but I guess they do deserve a rest!!! We will most certainly be back and see no need to look any where else for this area.

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely but room 2 looked very beautiful - I think I would opt for that one next time....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishShmanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We (4 couples) arrived at Woodland Crag on 5 August to a wonderful friendly greeting from Mo, who runs the country guest house with her husband Jack, and we knew we were going to have a great weekend from that moment. She has gone the extra mile in every aspect from the beautiful rooms with ensuite and sitting rooms plus gorgeous views. She gave us great advice about restaurants and even booked them for us. They were all within walking distance and were excellent. Jack cooks a wonderful breakfast and it is all so relaxed and friendly. Grasmere is charming and very central for most places in the Lakes and we enjoyed some walks with fabulous views. We left thoroughly relaxed and revived. I highly recommend Woodland Crag to everyone.
Angela Lay

Room Tip: All the 4 rooms had ensuite, 3 rooms had lovely sitting rooms too. The fourth room had a very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

A thoroughly lovely guest house. Beautifully laid out and decorated rooms. An excellent breakfast and the owners, Mo and Jak were delightful hosts - full of good tips of where to walk, and eat etc.

We will love to go back again in future. Grasmere is beautiful and very handily located in the centre of the lakes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I have just had a 3-night break here with my daughter. We both loved the twin room with our own lounge area. Everything was just right - comfortable, clean, lovely views, good breakfast and very welcoming hosts. I will return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cacham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have just had the most wonderful weekend in one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in. Mo and Jak cannot do enough for you and their local knowledge is second to none. The breakfasts are to die for and they filled us up for the day thats for sure and we loved the relaxed atmosphere of having it around the huge dining table and chatting with the other guests. The rooms have everything you could want and the views are spectacular. The only down side was that we had to come home.............! See you next year thats a promise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollydog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.7 km away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,431 reviews
0.6 km away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,181 reviews
1.2 km away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
829 reviews
0.8 km away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Crag Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Crag Guest House

Property: Woodland Crag Guest House
Address: Woodland Crag Town End, Grasmere LA22 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodland Crag Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing